University of Maryland Department of Aerospace Engineering
Newsletter | Summer 2018
View this email in your browser

Summer 2018 Newsletter

Brin Family Prize Celebrates Student Innovation
Three teams of students were recently awarded prize money from the Brin Family for projects that combined innovative synergies of software and hardware to advance drone applications. Team QBIT won the first prize of $20,000 and Team PRG FLYT and Team Autonomous Drone Racing each received a runner-up prize of $15,000. The winners were announced by Sam Brin ’09. Projects were evaluated and judged by Ming Lin, chair of UMD’s computer science department, Norman Wereley, chair of UMD’s aerospace engineering department, and Matt Scassero, director UMD’s Unmanned Aircraft Systems Test Site. Read More.

Six Students Receive Vertical Flight Foundation Scholarships
Six students from the Department of Aerospace Engineering recently received scholarships from AHS International—The Vertical Flight Society. In the Bachelor Degree category, Peter Ryseck was awarded the Professor Donald M. Layton Scholarship. In the Master Degree category, Daniel Escobar received the Bob Lynn Memorial Scholarship, Bernadine Passe received the Eric Robeson Memorial Scholarship, and Wanyi Ng received the Hal Andrews Scholarship. In the Doctorate Degree category, Seyhan Gul received the Professor Marat Tishchenko Scholarship and Stacy Sidle received the Dr. Alfred Gessow Scholarship. Read More.

Students Shine at AIAA Region 1 Student Conference
More than half of the papers (37 of 66) that were presented at this year’s American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Region 1 Student Conference were from students at the University of Maryland. Twelve students won awards for their papers, and seven were from UMD, including: Skylar Trythall (second place, undergraduate division); William V. Whitmore (third place, undergraduate division); Saimouli Katragadda and Benedict A. Mondal (first place, undergraduate team division); and Blaire Weinberg, Juliette Abbonizio, and Joseph Breeden (third place, undergraduate team division). Read More. 

Department News

Faculty News

Oran Inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Promoted to Fellow of the Combustion Institute 

IEEE Magnetics Society Names Flatau 2018 Distinguished Lecturer

Laurence Wins Second DURIP Award

Proposals from Akin and Hartzell Accepted for First Phase of NIAC Program

Baeder Named Technical Fellow of the American Helicopter Society

Bauchau Promoted to Fellow of the AIAA

Cadou Promoted to Professor

Yu Promoted to Professor

Student News

Petro Receives Alexander Brown Scholarship and Award

Petro and Shumway Awarded Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship

Frizzell Receives NSF Graduate Fellowship

Caracappa, McFarland, Mittelstaedt, Patel and Petro Recognized as ARCS Scholars for 2018-2019

Melone Receives NASA JSC Co-op Award

Nine Aerospace Students Recognized for Achievements


Connect With Us!
Copyright © 2018 Aerospace Department, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list