View this email in your browser
News from the University of Maryland's Department of Aerospace Engineering  |  Fall 2019

Dean Pines Named University of Maryland's 34th President

The University System of Maryland (USM) Board of Regents has appointed Darryll J. Pines, Ph.D., as the 34th president of the University of Maryland College Park (UMD).

Pines has spent 25 years on the College Park campus and is dean of the university’s A. James Clark School of Engineering and former chair for the Department of Aerospace Engineering.

His appointment is effective July 1, 2020. ▷ READ MORE.

University of Maryland COVID-19 Update

Courses to Go Online Through at Least April 10 After Extended Break


UMD Research Featured in Aerospace America

Research by Department Chair and Minta Martin Professor of Engineering Norman Wereley, along with aerospace engineering undergraduate students Ben Stutzke and Vivek Uppoor, has been featured by Aerospace America in the article, “Inspired by fish.

Paley Wins Grant for Micromobility Study

Quantitative research into e-scooters will help better assess risks and benefits, while providing a foundation for planning.

UAV-Aided Disaster Relief: Trust, Best Practices Are Key

Josh Gaus, an A. James Clark School of Engineering alumnus who currently works as an engineer at the UMD UAS Test Site, traveled to the Bahamas in October to assist the international disaster relief organization GlobalMedic in mapping the damage on Grand Bahama Island, as part of its RescUAV program.

UAS Test Site Receives Achievement Award from the American Helicopter Museum & Education Center

The American Helicopter Museum & Education Center recognized the University of Maryland Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) Test Site with the 2020 AHMEC Achievement Award for significant impact to furthering vertical flight during the past year.


Weinstein Wins Atmospheric Flight Mechanics Paper Competition

Ph.D. student and National Science Foundation fellow, Rose Weinstein was announced the winner of the Atmospheric Flight Mechanics paper competition at Scitech 2020.

Anusha Dixit Awarded Inaugural Mary and Tom Snitch Undergraduate Scholarship

Dr. Thomas H. Snitch and Mrs. Mary L. Snitch established the Mary and Tom Snitch Endowed Undergraduate Scholarship in May 2011. The scholarship provides merit-based support for undergraduate students in the Department of Aerospace Engineering, with a preference for students participating in the Women in Aeronautics and Astronautics program.


Pattishall Family Establishes Scholarship to Support Women in Aerospace Engineering

The Robert A. Pattishall Endowed Scholarship has been established by Marti Pattishall to honor her late husband and preserve his dedication to supporting women in engineering. The scholarship will support future women in engineering who are active in the Women in Aeronautics and Astronautics (WIAA) Program and who demonstrate a passion for excellence, superior motivation, and intellectual curiosity. 
Are you looking to honor a faculty member who made an impact on a student, past or present?

The Department of Aerospace Engineering welcomes gifts to this or any scholarship fund. Learn more by contacting Almarie Wood at or 301-405-9836.

Or visit
Contributions to the Department of Aerospace Engineering at Maryland help create more educational and research opportunities for our students, faculty, and department. Your contribution, no matter how large or small, can have an impact on a student today, and create far reaching impacts for tomorrow.

The Aerospace Engineering Chair's Undergraduate Education Fund supports initiatives and awards for undergraduates at the discretion of the Department Chair such as, but not limited to awards, student team materials, conference and competition travel, and student grants.
Copyright © 2020 University of Maryland Department of Aerospace Engineering, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.