Copy
The Frontier Regional FASD Training Center is pleased to offer you the following training opportunity.

In honor of Alcohol Awareness Month & National Alcohol Screening Day, the Frontier Regional FASD Training Center is pleased to offer the following three online trainings:


#1) Webinar: Brief Intervention Strategies for the Prevention of Alcohol Exposed Pregnancies
April 9, 2014
Please check your time zone for the webinar time:
  • 9:00am-10:30am (Hawaii)
  • 11:00am-12:30pm (Alaska)
  • noon-1:30pm (Pacific)
  • 1:00pm-2:30pm (Mountain)
  • 2:00pm-3:30pm (Central)
  • 3:00pm-4:30pm (Eastern)
About the training: Medical and mental health providers are uniquely situated to prevent alcohol exposed pregnancies. This webinar will provide an overview of the prevalence and consequences of alcohol use during pregnancy and describe research on interventions for women at risk of alcohol exposed pregnancy and for those who continue to drink during pregnancy. Specific focus will be given to the use of brief interventions in health and other opportunistic settings. Several practical brief intervention strategies will be described. 

Presenter: Jennifer Hettema, PhD - The University of New Mexico

Cost: FREE

CEHs: This webinar has been approved for a total of 1.5 contacts hours through the National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors (NAADAC).

For more information and to register, click here: https://casatunr.wufoo.com/entries/fasd-bi-strategies-for-preventing-aeps-4914/
 

 

#2) Self-Paced Online Course: FASDs for Medical & Allied Health Education and Practice
About the training: This online continuing education course was designed to educate nurses and allied health professionals on Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASDs). This course will help health & allied health professionals gain knowledge about FASDs, learn about prevention education regarding alcohol use during pregnancy and amongst women of childbearing age, understand the range of outcomes associated with maternal consumption of alcohol during pregnancy, and gain understanding of appropriate interventions for children and/or families at risk for or affect by FASDs.

Course developed by: Susan Storti, PhD, RN, CARN-AP

Cost: FREE

CEHs: 3
This continuing education activity was approved by the Montana Nurses Association an accredited approver by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.

For more information and to register, click here: http://www.frfasd.org/education/fasd_nurse.html


#3) Self-Paced Online Course: FASDs for Social Workers
About the training: Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder or FASD, is a term used to distinguish the diagnostic criteria for people who have been exposed to alcohol in utero and display specific physical and cognitive impairments.  Since social workers provide preventive, therapeutic, and case management services to women at risk of drinking while pregnant and women who have children who might be impaired with an FASD, it is critical that they possess current knowledge and relevant skills when working with both groups.  

Preventing the birth of a child with an FASD can be difficult and it is no less challenging to raise and educate a child with an FASD.  The purpose of this course is to provide social workers with current knowledge and relevant skills to effectively treat women at risk of drinking during pregnancy.  The course is not intended to complicate women's lives further or instill blame or guilt for not following societal expectations or a moral code, but to help provide timely and effective treatment for women at a critical point in their lives and to help identify and provide early intervention services for children who display FASD symptoms. 

Course developed by: Ryan Tolleson Knee, PhD, MSW

Cost: FREE

CEHs: 4
This program is Approved by the National Association of Social Workers (Approval #86621393-2462) for 4 Social Work continuing education contact hours.

For more information and to register, click here: http://www.frfasd.org/education/fasd_sw.html

For more information on FASD, please visit: 
http://www.frfasd.org/
http://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/fasd/index.html

Please contact Carolyn Edney at <cedney@casat.org> with any questions.