‘The delight of opening a new pursuit, or a new course of reading, imparts the vivacity and novelty of youth even to old age.’ 

Isaac D'Israeli, Literary Character of Men of Genius, Chapter XXII. (1818) 

Literary News
Miles Franklin Award

Miles Franklin award 2022: the longlist has been announced: 

  • 7 ½ (Christos Tsiolkas, A&U) 

  • Grimmish (Michael Winkler, Puncher & Wattmann) 

News From Book Groups

New warehouse and courier services 

CAE has recently conducted an extensive review of warehousing and courier services. This has been done in line with Victorian government competitive tendering. Accordingly, we have selected a new warehouse provider, based in Melbourne. Our entire stock has been transferred to C:\Users\alex.laki\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\INetCache\Content.MSO\E7F720E2.tmp, who are logistics specialists as well as couriers. Compu-Stor have created for us an efficient box-return booking system via direct email:  CAE@compu-stor.com.au 

For Melbourne metropolitan deliveries, Compu-Stor is also our courier. For regional and interstate groups, your deliveries and returns will continue via Parcel Send (Australia Post). 

Note the new warehouse address on the return label: Comp-Stor, 32 Burns Road, Altona VIC 3018 (ph: 1300 559 778).  

For secretaries who don’t use email (or who prefer to book by phone) please call us to arrange your box return (ph: (03) 9652-0620). For all other secretaries, if you require assistance in this period of adjustment, please email our Program Support Officer bookgroups@cae.edu.au to arrange your box return email booking. 

Art, Artists and Those Who Love Them: 12 Books of Art  

Art and books are kindred spirits - they can both be divisive and controversial, they can make us see the world differently and confront us with realities not personally experienced, they can also both be a reflection of beauty in the world and they can make us feel the spectrum of human emotion. And like art, books follow styles from traditional, minimalist, abstract, bold, cultural and controversial - often an accurate representation of the age in which they were created, yet can also transcend time and place.  

If you have never considered an art book, choosing one for your group might stimulate discussion in ways not seen before. Read below for our top picks of books of art. 

Read the Article
2022 Dialogue
The 2022 edition of Dialogue is available for digital download and hard copy with new additions to enjoy with your group.  
Download the Book Catalogue
June Giveaway

This month we have 2 x 2 reading selections to give away. 

Fromage, by Sally Scott 

Fans of MC Beaton, Kerry Greenwood and Richard Osman will love Sally Scott’s Alex Grant whodunnit series. Addictive without the additives, this lactose-doting high-heel toting amateur sleuth sniffs out a mystery that will keep you on your toes from her very first bite of Croatia’s flaky pastries right to her date with the delectable but dangerous cheeseboards of Margaret River. 

Journalist Alex Grant is enjoying the last days of her summer holiday in Croatia when she is accosted by an old school friend, Marie Puharich, and her odious brother, Brian, both there to attend the funeral of their fearsome grandfather’s two loyal retainers. The only upside of the whole sorry business is meeting Marco, the family’s resident Adonis. An incorrigible foodie, Alex is unable to resist Brian’s invitation to visit the family creamery in Australia’s south-west to snoop around for stories and eat her body weight in brie. But trouble has a way of finding Alex, not least because her curiosity is the size of a giant gouda wheel. What begins as a country jaunt in search of a juicy story will end in death, disaster and the destruction of multiple pairs of shoes.  

Thanks to Fremantle Press 

The Good Teacher, by Petronella McGovern 

A good teacher can change lives. Every evening, Allison watches her husband’s new house, desperate to find some answers. Every morning, she puts on a brave face to teach kindergarten. She’s a good teacher, everyone says so – this stalking is just a tiny crack in her usual self-control. A late enrolment into her class brings little Gracie – sick and grieving. Allison takes the girl and her father, Luke, under her wing.

She smothers Gracie with the love she can’t give her own son. As others question her judgement and the police arrive at her door, Allison starts to wonder if she can trust herself. When Gracie has a chance to go to America for treatment, Allison leads the school in a fundraising drive. But has she crossed a line? How far will the good teacher go to save a life? And whose life will that be? An intriguing tale of our times about kindness and betrayal, and the danger of good deeds. 

Thanks to Allen & Unwin 

Smokehouse, by Melissa Manning 

Winner of the Prize for Fiction at the 2022 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards. A man watches a boy in a playground and pictures him in the grey wooden shed he’s turned into a home. A woman’s adopted mother dies, reawakening childhood memories and grief. A couple’s decision to move to an isolated location may just be their undoing.

A young woman forms an unexpected connection at a summer school in Hungary. Set in southern Tasmania, these interlinked stories bring into focus the inhabitants of small communities, and capture the moments when life turns and one person becomes another. With insight and empathy, Melissa Manning interrogates how the people we meet and the places we live shape the person we become. 

Thanks to UQP 

Fathoms by Rebecca Giggs 

Winner of the Nib Literary Award 2020, shortlisted for the 2021 Stella Prize. What can whales reveal about our world today? When writer Rebecca Giggs encountered a humpback whale stranded on her local beachfront in Australia, she began to wonder how the lives of whales shed light on the condition of our seas. Fathoms: the World in the Whale blends natural history, philosophy, and science to explore: How do whales experience ecological change?

Will our connection to these storied animals be transformed by technology? What can observing whales teach us about the complexity, splendour, and fragility of life? In Fathoms, we learn about whales so rare they have never been named, whale songs that sweep across hemispheres in annual waves of popularity, and whales that have modified the chemical composition of our planet’s atmosphere. We travel to Japan to board the ships that hunt whales, and delve into the deepest seas to discover the plastic pollution now pervading their undersea environment. In the spirit of Rachel Carson and Rebecca Solnit, Giggs gives us a vivid exploration of the natural world even as she addresses what it means to write about nature at a time of environmental crisis. With depth and clarity, Giggs outlines the challenges we face as we attempt to understand the perspectives of other living beings, and our own place on an evolving planet. Evocative and inspiring, Fathoms marks the arrival of an essential new voice.  

Thanks to Scribe   

 

Anyone is welcome to enter. To go in the draw, simply email us at competition@cae.edu.au and let us know your favourite books about borderlands. Include your name and postal address. Entries close on Friday, July 1st. We will notify the winners and we may use their answers on social media. 

June Featured Book

The Picture of Dorian Gray was published 132 years ago this month. The ultimate cautionary tale of the worship of self and idolisation of art, it was Oscar Wilde’s only published novel.   

Scandal erupted over the novel when it was published as it was alleged to have violated the laws of public morality. Perhaps less shocking now, this psychological thriller remains just as enticing more than a hundred years later. It examines the cost of self-indulgence, and the havoc we wreak on our souls in the quest for satisfaction. 

Adapted for the stage, the modern re-telling of ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’is showing at Melbourne’s Playhouse Theatre until July 31st.   
Upcoming Classes

Mid Century Modernists - Australian Art 1950 - 1970 (Online)
3 classes,
6 Jul - 20 Jul 
Wednesday, 11:30am - 1:00pm 
$145 / $138 (conc)

Book now

Richmond Historical Walking Tour
1 class,
10 Jul 
Sunday, 10:00am - 12:30pm 
$109 / $104 (conc) 

 

Book Now

Watercolours: Beginners
6 classes
Tuesday, 6:00pm - 8:00pm, 
26 Jul - 30 Aug. $369 / $351 (conc)

 

Book Now
Copyright © 2022 CAE, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list