November 2017 Newsletter
View this email in your browser


Greetings from Kansas City.
I’m trying out my home office now that I have officially retired from Lathrop Gage, and I already miss the technology resources of my firm.
The College just completed its largest Futures Conference in Atlanta at Georgia State University School of Law, led by our own Sharon Nelson and Mark Tamminga. What a great program and speakers! Sharon and Mark deserve huge credit for putting together a program that provided us with a deep dive into the world of Artificial Intelligence and it’s continuing and growing effect on the practice of law. This was our 9th Futures Conference and we sold out in advance! There were opportunities to learn, to react, to mingle, to network, and to reflect on the information shared.
At our opening luncheon, our own Linda Klein, past president of the American Bar Association, welcomed us to her home city with a strong message in support of the Legal Services Corporation. During her presidency, she argued passionately for continued funding from the federal government, stressing the needs of those Americans who don’t have access to justice. She challenged each of us to do our part to improve access to justice for all.
The conference topics served as both an introduction to the current state of AI in the law and a primer on topics that spanned the breadth of AI, from “Hype versus Reality” to a demo of Jill Watson, teaching assistant at Georgia Institute of Technology to an introduction to the machines we will be running with. One of the most stimulating sessions involved a discussion of the perilous ethical waters of AI with Sharon Nelson, Ed Walters, John Simek, moderated by John Mitchell. Many thought-provoking comments from the panel and the audience were shared. The PowerPoint presentations and each panel's recommended resources can be viewed on the Meeting Materials Archives page of our website. 
Presentations & Recommended Resources
On Friday, October 27, we welcomed 32 new Fellows into the College. You can find them listed in the Fellows Directory on the College website. Please take a moment to drop them a line and welcome them into the fellowship we enjoy.

We honored our two winners of this year’s InnovAction Awards at our Friday luncheon. They are Novus Law LLC for its latest Novus AccelerateTM represented by Ray Bayley and Lois Haubold, and Vorys, Sater, Seymour and Pease LLP for its Online Seller Enforcement tool, represented by Whitney Gibson. Patrick Lamb, our InnovAction Awards chair and Trustee, presented the awards with great skill – even using cotton gloves to preserve the pristine crystal awards. Our thanks again to the judges, led by Tom Clay, Chair, and judges Ida Abbott, Casey Flaherty, Merrilyn Astin Tarlton and Tony Williams.

Need photos from the conference or want to see what you missed? Our photographers, Dan Pinnington and Jeff Rovner have graciously made their photos available for you to enjoy and download. 
Conference Photos
Before the Futures Conference, the Board of Trustees met at the offices of Dentons in Atlanta, and welcomed three new Trustees – Tim Corcoran, Jeff Rovner and Teresa Walker. They are great additions and have already made significant contributions in their first meeting. We had a very wide-ranging discussion of the College and its activities, it’s value to the industry and to our Fellows. We are continuing to focus on improving diversity and inclusion in the College and I distributed an update of the task force activities to date.  

The Futures Conference, Annual Meeting and InnovAction Awards would not be possible without our sponsors. Be sure to thank our 2017 Sponsors!
We have also set our next Futures Conference in Boston at Suffolk University School of Law October 25 and 26, 2018. Sharon Nelson and Tim Corcoran will lead us into the dark world of Internet security and its effects on the practice of law from several perspectives. But we all need your help. If you attended, we need your candid and valued feedback. If you weren't able to attend, please let us know why you weren't able to join us. If you haven't already done so, please complete this year's evaluation form: 
Complete this Form if you Attended
Complete this form if you Did Not Attend
Mark your calendars now and stay tuned for more details. Our headquarters hotel is the Langham Boston, where we will hold our annual Fellows Induction Dinner.

Nominate Your Peers, Mentors or Advisors for the Class of 2018!


Who do you know who should be recognized for their outstanding contributions to the field of law practice management?

Now is the time to nominate exceptional individuals as Fellows to be considered for the Class of 2018. You can download the 2018 nomination form by visiting the Nominations area of the COLPM web site. Please submit your nomination(s) to the College Administrator by February 2, 2018.

Some important points to remember:

  • Membership is by invitation only to those who have proven to their peers, the bar, the bench, or the public through sustained performance and substantial contributions to law practice management that they meet the eligibility criteria for membership.
  • The College actively encourages the nomination of diverse candidates as determined by race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation and nationality.
  • Only current College Fellows can, with a “second” from another Fellow, submit a nomination to the Board of Trustees.
  • We leave it to the nominator to determine what sort of accompanying material will be necessary to inform Trustees, who may have no prior knowledge of the candidate, about his or her qualifications. (Please limit the nomination packet to 10 pages or less.)
  • Visit the Nominations and Guidelines areas of the COLPM web site for the nomination criteria, to find tips for preparing an effective nomination, important information about the selection process and to download the 2018 nomination form.  

Please contact the College Administrator, Debbie Curtis-O’Connell, at if you have questions. We look forward to receiving your nominations soon!  

Thanks for your continuing support of the College and its activities. As we are reminded each time we get together in person, it’s the relationships made and strengthened that become so meaningful to each of us. 

Bill Migneron
Bill Migneron, President

2017-2018 BOARD

William C. Migneron, Jr.
Mark T. Greene
Terri Pepper Gavulic
Steve Nelson

Tim Corcoran
Joan Feldman
Mark T. Greene
Tom Grella
Patrick Lamb
Michael Mills
Sharon Nelson
Dan Pinnington
Jeff Rovner
Mark Tamminga
Kendal Tyre
Teresa Walker


Debbie Curtis-O'Connell


Sharon Nelson
Mark Tamminga
Copyright © 2017 College of Law Practice Management, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp