View this email in your browser

2020 Territory Election: Newsletter No. 14

Issue date: Tuesday, 4 August 2020

Electoral roll numbers rise

A total of 141,225 Territorians are now on the electoral roll and eligible to vote in the 2020 Territory Election following the close of roll at 5:00 pm on Friday 31 July.
The total is almost 6,000 more than the 135,506 who were on the roll for the 2016 election.
The newly named division of Mulka tops the list for the total number of electors on the roll at 6,124, while Arafura has the lowest number with 5,183.
Those figures could still increase with a new savings provision under section 105 of the Act giving eligible electors not on the roll the opportunity to cast a provisional vote. Those votes will only be added to the count if the elector is qualified to be on the roll and meets the proof of identity requirement.
Electoral roll as at 31 July: 
ARAFURA ... 5,183
ARALUEN ... 5,742
ARNHEM ... 5,431
BARKLY ... 5,690
BLAIN ... 5,695
BRAITLING ... 5,830
BRENNAN ... 5,746
CASUARINA ... 5,647
DALY ... 5,622
DRYSDALE ... 5,828
FANNIE BAY ... 5,473
FONG LIM ... 5,555
GOYDER ... 5,583
GWOJA ... 5,313
JOHNSTON ... 5,556
KARAMA ... 5,482
KATHERINE ... 5,749
MULKA ... 6,124
NAMATJIRA ... 5,728
NELSON ... 5,505
NIGHTCLIFF ... 5,621
PORT DARWIN ... 5,699
SANDERSON ... 5,449
SPILLETT ... 5,863
WANGURI ... 6,111

Total: ... 141,225

Nominations close Thursday

Potential candidates for the 2020 Territory Election are reminded that nominations will close at 12 noon on Thursday, 6 August. Late nominations cannot be accepted.
Candidates wishing to nominate should contact the NTEC on 1800 698 683 or 8999 5000 or email to make an appointment.
👉🏻 Nomination forms and handbook

Declaration of nominations

The declaration of nominations and the draw for position on the ballot paper will be held at 2:00 pm on Thursday, 6 August in Darwin and Alice Springs. The Darwin event will be held at Level 2 of the TCG Centre at 80 Mitchell Street and in Alice Springs the draw will be held at the old ANZ Bank in Todd Mall.
Media are invited to attend, and if interested, asked to contact Public Awareness Manager, Mark Wilton 📞 8999 7635 or 📧

Postal votes

Independent candidates and political parties who are conducting postal vote campaigns are reminded that applications should be lodged with the NTEC by close of business on Thursday, 6 August. This will ensure that they are included in the first despatch on 10 August. The applications can be dropped off at the Alice Springs or Darwin office or emailed to
About 6,500 Territorians have applied so far. Territorians wishing to apply for a postal vote can do so on the Commission’s website at or click on the button below.
👉🏻 Postal vote application

Voting arrangements for Territorians in quarantine

The NTEC is aware of the potential voting issues that may be faced by NT residents who are required to undertake mandatory quarantine in Howard Springs and Alice Springs. A meeting with coordinators of the quarantine facilities is being established to identify suitable voting arrangements. More information will be conveyed in the next newsletter.

How-to-vote cards

All independent and endorsed candidates and political parties are reminded that the 2020 Territory Election will see the voting system return to a full preferential model.

'How-to-vote cards must make it clear that voters must sequentially number every square on the ballot paper to cast a formal vote.

Where to vote flyers

Territorians living in primarily urban electorates will receive a 'where and when to vote' flyer in their mailboxes from this week. The flyers will be delivered to addresses that are serviced by Australia Post.

The flyers contain information including the location and opening hours of early voting centres and the location of election day voting centres relevant to the electorate. More than 61,000 flyers will be delivered to households in electorates across the Territory including Darwin and Palmerston, Alice Springs, Katherine, Tennant Creek and Nhulunbuy.

Disclosure returns

Disclosure returns for the period 1 July to 30 July are due today. These returns will be made available on the website on Friday, 7 August.
Copyright © 2020 NT Electoral Commission, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp  NT Electoral Commission logo and link.