View this email in your browser


2021 Local Government Elections: Newsletter 01

Issue date: Friday 28 May

Postal voting

Do you want your ballot paper/s sent to you?
Apply for a postal vote online and have the ballot paper/s sent to your nominated address. The first despatch of postal votes will occur on Monday 9 August.
👉🏻 Voting by post

Local government boundaries

Changes to City of Darwin, Litchfield Council and West Arnhem Regional Council boundaries and ward structures were officially gazetted in December 2020. 

These include:
  • Changes to ward boundaries within the City of Darwin local government area; including, Fannie Bay, East Point (part) and Ludmilla (part) moved from Lyons Ward to Chan Ward; The Narrows and Woolner (part) moved from Waters Ward to Lyons Ward; Moil moved from Chan Ward to Waters Ward; and Wagaman moved from Richardson Ward to Waters Ward.
  • Changes to ward structures in Litchfield Council with the creation of 3 wards (previously 4) and determination of 2 members for each ward.
  • Changes to ward boundaries in the West Arnhem Regional Council local government area, creating the Minjilang and Warruwi wards and abolishing the Barrah Ward. 
👉🏻 View local government area maps

Local Government Amendment Bill 2021

The Bill was introduced into the Legislative Assembly on 24 March 2021 and is intended to amend the Local Government Act 2019 prior to the Act's commencement on 1 July 2021.

The key electoral-related changes are:
  • provisional voting for unenrolled voters, a savings measure that allows people to vote if they are not enrolled at the time of voting, but are entitled to be enrolled
  • the introduction of financial disclosure requirements for local government candidates*
* To allow candidates plenty of time to understand the disclosure changes, the commencement of this part of the Act will be deferred until 1 July 2022. This means the disclosure requirements will not apply at the 2021 election.

Read the Bill via the following link:
👉🏻 Local Government Amendment Bill 2021

Election timetable

The local government general election timetable is determined by the Local Government Act 2008 and the Local Government (Electoral) Regulations.

Key dates:

  • Nominations open: Friday 16 July
  • Close of electoral roll: Tuesday 27 July at 5:00 pm
  • Close of nominations: Thursday 5 August at 12:00 noon
  • Early voting commences: Monday 16 August
  • Election day: Saturday 28 August
View the timetable and other relevant information via the following link:
👉🏻 2021 election information

Make sure your are correctly enrolled

The electoral roll closes at 5:00 pm on Tuesday 27 July. Your electoral enrolment must be correct so you can vote for the candidates in your local government area. Find out how to enrol or update your electoral enrolment via the following link:

Copyright © 2021 NT Electoral Commission, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
GPO Box 2419, Darwin NT 0801

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.