GDAE to honor Amit Bhaduri & Diane Elson with Leontief Prize
GDAE LogoGlobal Development And Environment Institute
at Tufts University

Tufts institute to award annual Leontief Prize to

Amit Bhaduri & Diane Elson

for their work on development and equity

GDAE will award its 2016 Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought to Amit Bhaduri and Diane Elson. This year's award, titled "Development and Equity," recognizes the contributions that these researchers have made to economic understandings of development, power, gender, and human rights. 
“As the free market and waves of globalization have left some peoples behind, Diane Elson and Amit Bhaduri demonstrate why the current theories of development have excluded the poor and disenfranchised from the growth process,” said GDAE Co-Director Neva Goodwin. “Their cross-disciplinary work and profound understanding of economic development is appropriately recognized in an award that bears Leontief's name.”
GDAE awards the Leontief Prize each year to leading theorists who have developed innovative work in economics that addresses contemporary realities and supports just and sustainable societies. This year’s award will celebrate their continuing efforts to expand our knowledge of economic systems in the contexts of globalization, capital accumulation and the shifting balance of power away from governments to markets.

The ceremony and lectures by the awardees will take place on March 10, 2016 on Tufts University’s Medford campus; further details will be forthcoming.

2016 Awardees

Diane Elson, 2016 Leontief Prize WinnerDr. Diane Elson is Emeritus Professor of Sociology at the University of Essex, Visiting Professor at the Centre for Research on Women in Scotland’s Economy, Glasgow Caledonian University, and Research Associate of the Center for Women’s Global Leadership, Rutgers University. Dr. Elson is a member of the UN Committee for Development Policy, and an adviser to UN Women. She has published widely on gender equality, economic policy, and human rights, and is currently writing a book with Radhika Balakrishnan and James Heintz entitled Economic Policy for Social Justice: The Radical Potential of Human Rights.
Learn more about Dr. Elson

Amit Bhaduri, 2016 Leontief WinnerDr. Amit Bhaduri is Professor Emeritus at Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi, and is currently the Visiting Chair Professor in Political Economy at Goa University. He has served as Professor of Political Economy at the University of Pavia, Italy, Reader at the Delhi School of Economics, and Professor at the Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta. Dr. Bhaduri’s research spans several important fields including capital and growth theory, Keynesian and Post-Keynesian macroeconomics, and development economics. He has published more than 60 papers and has written ten books.
Learn more about Dr. Bhaduri

About the Leontief Prize

GDAE inaugurated its economics award in 2000 in memory of Nobel Prize-winning economist and GDAE advisory board member Wassily Leontief. The Leontief Prize recognizes economists whose work, like that of the institute and Leontief himself, combines theoretical and empirical research to promote a more comprehensive understanding of social and environmental processes.

The inaugural prizes were awarded in 2000 to John Kenneth Galbraith and Nobel Prize winner Amartya Sen. Since then, GDAE has awarded the Leontief Prize to Paul Streeten, Herman Daly, Alice Amsden, Dani Rodrik, Nancy Folbre, Robert Frank, Richard Nelson, Ha-Joon Chang, Samuel Bowles, Juliet Schor, Jomo Kwame Sundaram, Stephen DeCanio, José Antonio Ocampo, Robert Wade, Bina Agarwal, Daniel Kahneman, Nicholas Stern, Martin Weitzman, C. Peter Timmer, Michael Lipton, Albert O. Hirschman (posthumous), Frances Stewart, Angus Deaton, James K. Galbraith, Duncan Foley, and Lance Taylor.

Read more about the Leontief Prize and past winners 
Read more about the 2016 Leontief Prize Winners