Call for nominations

Beijerinck Prizes for Virology 2021

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) awards the M.W. Beijerinck Virology Prize every two years and the Beijerinck Premium annually.


The M.W. Beijerinck Virology Prize goes to an internationally recognized researcher who has made a groundbreaking contribution to virology, in the broadest sense of the word. The Prize, 35.000 euros and a medal, was established in 1965 in memory of virologist M.W. Beijerinck (1851-1931).

Do you know someone in your own network or someone who works in any part of the world who deserves this Prize? Nominate that person now!
Nominations can be submitted up to and including 1 November 2020 using the nomination form (doc) on the Academy website.

The Beijerinck Premium, established in 2002, is awarded to a talented early career researcher working in the Netherlands on excellent virus-related research and in doing so is an example for other young virologists.

Candidates for this Premium can only be nominated by nominators in the Netherlands. For more information about the Beijerinck Premium and how to nominate, visit this Academy webpage.

More information

For more information about the regulations and procedures, please visit the Academy website. You may also contact Jeffrey Muskiet, wetenschapsfondsen@knaw.nl.

Kloveniersburgwal 29
P.O. Box 19121
NL-1000 GC Amsterdam


If you wish to be kept informed about KNAW symposiums, lectures and debates, register for our mailings.


We use your data only for sending our mailings and we will never issue these data to third parties without your permission. You can access, change and/or delete your profile at all times. You can always opt-out of our mailings. See also our privacy statement.