Architecture + WomenArchitecture Women New Zealand association logo Like A+W•NZ Awards 2014 Jury announced on Facebook
Full width spacer
A+W•NZ Awards 2014 Jury announced
In this email:

35px wide spacer
Kia Ora <<First Name>>,

Elevation of a modern neighborhood

A+W•NZ Awards 2014 5-member Jury Lineup

The nominations are in and the difficult selection of finalists and winners is under way for the three A+W•NZ Awards 2014. The jury panel for 2014 is a broad mix of skills and expertise: Peggy Deamer (Yale University), Elizabeth Seuseu (Architectus), Bill McKay (The University of Auckland) and Jo Aitken (Atelier Aitken). Finalists will be announced 8 September 2014. A huge thank you from A+W•NZ to the Jury for their valuable time.

86px spacer
Elevation of a modern neighborhood

How are the A+W•NZ Awards different?

The A+W•NZ Awards supplement the existing array of excellent New Zealand architectural awards by concentrating on some areas not currently covered. Here is a quick explanation of the three A+W•NZ Awards:
Wirihana Emerging Leadership Award
Research has shown that by the second decade beyond graduation, the registration ratio between male and female is skewed. This period is significant for all architectural careers, and it seems that just as mentoring relationships are defined and future leaders noted, females become less visible. This award aims to maintain focus on emerging female leaders in this important stage of their architectural lives.

Munro Diversity Award
Remember, male architects are not excluded from the A+W•NZ Awards, both in their role as nominators and as possible recipients of the Munro Diversity Award. This award rewards and makes public the incredible good work being done daily in the architectural community to promote equity, making a healthier profession and workplace environment for all. So many individuals, collectives and practices are contributing in this way and we want to make them visible as examples of good practice / good architecture. We may be wrong, but we believe that this is the first award of this type in New Zealand.

Chrystall Excellence Award
Women have been contributing to New Zealand architecture for over 100 years and this award is a celebration of the many 'full' careers in architecture of those who have worked over several decades. A focus of this award is on leadership, excellence, and contribution to the community through mentorship.

86px spacer
Why Have the A+W•NZ Awards?
It's 2014, is there a need for an awards system with a focus on gender? It seems so: have a look all around the world at the many similar awards being created - there is an identified gap and this is being filled with different strategies and a common aim. Closer to home, members of A+W•NZ have noticed what the research has confirmed - that gender does not affect student performance in the universities (who have had solid equity policy in place since the 1980s), but by the second decade beyond graduation the female graduates have reduced significantly from view. We must look at workplace structures and workplace culture to avoid losing so much valuable talent, as well as highlighting mentors for the younger generations.
We are excited about these awards celebrating the vast talent in NZ and look forward to the Awards Dinner on Saturday 27 September 2014, the last event of the NZIA Auckland Architecture Week.  Tickets can be purchased through Eventbrite.
35px wide spacer Amazing apartments stair view
35px wide spacer
86px spacer

The team at Architecture + Women

64px wide spacer

With support from our Sponsors

New Zealand Institute of Architects logo Architecture Week logo Warren Trust Resene Colorsteel The University of Auckland logo Colorsteel MetalCraft Roofing Knobs and Knockers MetalCraft Panels
NZ Steel

Bull OSullivan Architecture LTD Warren and Mahoney Architectus
Block Foundation logo Jasmax Logo

Unsubscribe from these occasional updates. View online.
Architecture + Women New Zealand.