The Ontario Pharmacists Association Announces the Resignation of CEO Dennis Darby

The Ontario Pharmacists Association announced today that the Board of Directors has accepted the resignation of Chief Executive Officer, Dennis Darby, effective January 27, 2017.  Mr. Darby will take on a new role outside of the Association.
“With the recent announcement of the expansion of pharmacists’ immunization authority by the Honourable Dr. Eric Hoskins, Minister of Health and Long-Term Care, and having just successfully completed our fifth annual Queen’s Park Day during which OPA members and staff reminded MPPs of the value that pharmacy professionals can and do bring to Health Care, I am leaving OPA on a good foundation,” said Mr. Darby.  “I am sincerely grateful for the support I’ve received from the Board of Directors, our members and our staff.  While I am transitioning as CEO, I remain a supporter of the pharmacy profession.”
“On behalf of the Board members and the staff of OPA, I would like to thank Dennis for his almost nine years of service to the Association and the profession, and for the leadership he has provided in support of the Board’s strategies to advocate for the enhanced role that pharmacy professionals can and should play in our health care system,” said Sean Simpson, Chair of the Board of Directors.  “We wish him well in his new role.”
The Board of Directors has already begun its search for a new Chief Executive Officer. Following Mr. Darby’s departure, the CEO responsibilities will be assumed in the interim period by senior staff.  Specifically, Allan Malek, Senior Vice President, will be responsible for professional and practice matters, and Amedeo Zottola, Chief Financial Officer, will lead operational matters. They will report jointly to the OPA Board of Directors.
Copyright © 2016 Ontario Pharmacists Association, All rights reserved.