Call for Entries

James Tait Black Prize
for Drama


Reminder: 20 January 2017 deadline!

About the Award…
The James Tait Black Prize for Drama is a £10,000 prize celebrating innovation in playwriting.

The prize for the best original new play written in English, Scots or Gaelic is organised by the University of Edinburgh in association with Playwrights’ Studio, Scotland and the Traverse Theatre.
Judges will award the accolade to a play which displays an original voice in theatre and one that they feel has made a significant and unique contribution to the art form.
The prize is open to any new work by playwrights from any country, and at any stage in their career.
Extracts of the shortlisted plays will be performed as rehearsed readings at the Traverse Theatre at the award ceremony held during the Edinburgh Festival in August 2017.
Eligibility Criteria 
Submissions must be made from agents or the original producing company, and the nominator must have permission from the playwright before making a submission.

If the play is shortlisted, the playwright must agree to co-operate with the organisers in the award ceremony and consent to give rights to Playwrights' Studio, Scotland for a rehearsed reading of their work.

Eligible plays are those over sixty minutes in playing time, originally written in English (including all standard and non-standard varieties) Scots or Gaelic, first produced between 1 January and 31 December 2016, and performed by a professional company for more than 6 performances.
The playwright must have been commissioned formally by a professional organisation using a contract recognised by an industry regulator within the country of production (e.g. in the UK, the TMA, Equity, ITC or Federation of Scottish Theatre).
The production must have had a full production by a professional company using professionally contracted personnel.

The judges will be comprised of University of Edinburgh academics and postgraduate students as well as representatives from
Playwrights’ Studio, Scotland and the Traverse Theatre.
How to submit
For details of how to submit and to download a submission form, please visit:

Deadline for submissions: 20 January 2017.
You are receiving this email because of your professional interest in playwriting awards and activities. We would be grateful if you could forward this information to others who might be interested in this award.

Copyright © 2016 Playwrights' Studio, Scotland, All rights reserved.
 Header Photo Details

Gary Owen won the 2016 prize for his play Iphigina in Splott. Awarded at the Traverse Theatre in August 2016.

Photo Credit: Neil Hanna