View this email in your browser

Awards and Honours

Squash Ontario is very pleased to announce the 2015 – 2017 Board of Directors – Janice Lardner (Ottawa) president, Kathy Cowper, Robert Mansbridge, Andrew Mount, Nicole Garon and Bruce Marrison.
On Friday, June 12th, Squash Ontario recognized some very special individuals in the Ontario squash community. 
Special Achievement Award – Squash Ontario’s highest honour was presented to Vincent Taylor of Ottawa.  VINCENT TAYLOR not only meets the exacting criteria of this award but exceeds it in every respect.  He travels the world to play the game he loves and has amassed an impressive array of Ontario, Canadian and International titles including 2 British Opens.
Vinnie’s passion for squash extends into coaching and he has coached and mentored many young players in Ottawa over the years.
He has been and continues to be involved in the game in a volunteer role as well, having served on both the Squash Ontario and Squash Canada Masters Committees and is a former member of the Board of Governors of the Ontario Squash Hall of Fame.
Vincent Taylor with President Janice Lardner
His generosity is perhaps the least known feature of Vincent Taylor and yet there has not been a Squash Ontario golf tournament in which he hasn’t played; he supports the Ontario Squash Hall of Fame, believing that our history is just as important as our future; and he buys more 50/50 tickets at the golf dinner than everyone combined! 

Vincent Taylor is a very remarkable man who exemplifies all that the game entails – sportsmanship, fair play, skill and passion.

Mark Sachvie Coaching Achievement Award was presented to Nicole Pirko of the Pickering Squash Club.  This award was created by the Board of Directors of Squash Ontario to recognize outstanding coaches in Ontario.  It is presented to a coach who has consistently exhibited, espoused and taught the principles of respect, integrity and fair play and who portrays a positive role model both for the game of squash and for the coaching profession.

In 2014, the award was renamed the Mark Sachvie Coaching Achievement Award to honour one of the finest coaches Ontario has ever had.

Nicole Pirko and Mark Sachvie shared a great deal in common.   Both extraordinary coaches – both associated with the Canada Winter Games – Nicole initially as an athlete and then for two Games, a coach.  She brought not just her coaching knowledge to this role but also was able to empathize with the athletes as she had walked in their shoes.
Nicole is the squash professional at the Pickering Recreation Centre/Pickering Squash Club – the squash events she runs each year and extremely well attended because players know from experience that they’ll have a great time both on and off the court.
Simon Warder Outstanding Officiating Award was presented to David Howard of Simcoe.  This award was created in the memory of Simon Warder, himself an outstanding official but more importantly, an outstanding individual.

The recipient each year is chosen by the individual’s colleagues which is an honour itself.  Dave Howard was bitten by the refereeing bug back in the early ‘90s.  He steadily progressed through the system and currently is a National Examiner and Pan American Regional Referee.
He has served as Tournament Referee for countless Ontario and Canadian Championships over the years.
Dave is not just committed to holding the clipboard; he is equally committed to ensuring that the national program is representative of high standards of competency and certification.  He has been a member of Squash Ontario’s Referees Committee for many years and is currently chairing Squash Canada’s Officiating Restructuring Committee.
Outstanding Achievement Award Recipients
Alex Carter, Toronto
Amy Commisso, Vaughan
Natalie Commiso, Vaughan
Allan Cook, Mississauga
Iain Crozier, Toronto
Ryan Forster, Toronto
Craig Guthrie, Windsor
Alex Gosset, Toronto
Husan Hamour, Niagara Falls
Maia Kirk, Toronto
Dolly Kao, Toronto
Nicole Kendall, Markham
Vinit Kudva, Waterloo
Sophie Mehta, Toronto
Madlen O’Connor, Toronto
Carter Robitaille, Toronto
Ravi Seth, Fergus
Marcia Sier, Toronto
Dan Van Moorsel, Chatham

Copyright © 2015 Squash Ontario, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp