Copy
View this email in your browser
FESTIVAL FLASHBACK: 2006 SSN Western Sol Festivalon the beach in San Diego 

REGISTRATION COMING SOON!
SSN Annual Membership Meeting

July 22 - 24, 2022 in Cleveland, OH


Do you know who you'll be sending yet?  It would be great to have two representatives from each member chorus. Attendees will have an opportunity to workshop the SSN commissioned piece by Ayo Awosika, tour the venues we'll be using for the 2023 SSN Choral Festival, and participate in decision-making for the network. Hosted by Windsong, Cleveland's Feminist Chorus! Watch your inboxes for the registration form.

Composer Introductions 

 
In our search for a composer to write the commissioned piece for the SSN 2023 Festival, we were excited to receive proposals from 16 artists (38% which were from people of the global majority due to the committee's outreach efforts). If your choir is looking to commission a unique piece of music for your season, you might consider starting with these composers.

B.E. Boykin is passionate about creating more music for SSAA voices and has created an impressive portfolio of compositions and commissions. She is an accomplished classical pianist, currently teaches at Spelman College, studies at Georgia Institute of Technology, and writes from her home in Atlanta, GA.

Jean Rohe has roots in folk music and tours as half of the duo Robinson & Rohe. Her piece National Anthem Arise! Arise! has been recorded by many artists, including Emma's Revolution, The Brooklyn Women's Chorus, and the Seattle Labor Chorus.

The classical and folk backgrounds represented in these two women give you a glimpse into the breadth of diversity and possibility alive in this search! 

 WHAT'S HAPPENING AROUND THE NETWORK? 

Click on the links to find performance videos shared by SSN member choruses.

CHARISThe St. Louis Women’s Chorus (St. Louis, MO)
I Am What I Am, December 2021
Celebrating the many aspects of a woman’s life from childhood joy to developing the wisdom of an elder and everything in between!
 
Grand Rapids Women's Chorus (Grand Rapids, MI)
GRWC Winter Concert, December 2021
Meaningful and magical vibes from beginning to end. This was the first concert I have attended in over two years and I felt safe. Thank you for taking every precaution.—Family member of chorus member/singer.
 
Brattleboro Women's Chorus (Brattleboro, VT)     
Heart Song Singalong, November 2021
We have offered three "Zoom singalong concerts" since the pandemic began. This recording is the most recent, and the musical track is a recording of current singers singing, masked and distanced, but together for the first time. Hooray for in person singing! When the screen has a camera "crossed out", you can switch to the "Shared Screen" and see the videos that were played. Becky Graber, Director
 
Columbus Woman's Chorus (Columbus, OH)
Rise Up!, November 2021
A Path To Each Other, June 2021
 
Amasong (Champaign/Urbana, IL)
Sing as We Go: Votes for Women!, Summer 2021
The University of Illinois' Spurlock Museum of World Culture hosted an exhibition entitled, "Debates, Decisions, and Demands: Objects of Campaigns and Activism." The museum commissioned Amasong to prepare five videos using music reflective of the turn of the 20th Century Suffrage movement.
 
Voices Rising (Boston, MA)
There Will Always Be Singing: A Virtual Concert, April 2021
In its 7 songs, this production offers the variety people have come to expect in a Voices Rising concert along with the clarity and choral excellence we consistently present in performance. And, beyond that, our audiences this time around will witness not only the newly honed creative talents of our video editors, who brilliantly turned our songs into stories, each with its own character and mode of expression, but our audience will also be treated to a look into the personal stories of some of our members, who speak from their hearts about their connection to music and to this communitya connection that we all share, even as our individual stories differ. Leora Zimmer, Artistic Director
 
Common Woman Chorus (Durham, NC)
Armor and Still I Will Love, 2021
The Common Woman Chorus learned and performed two songs remotely in the Spring of 2021. It doesn't beat singing together, but we are proud of this work that we did!
 
Artemis Singers (Chicago, IL)
We Are the New Dawn, 2021
Karen Mooney and Hilary Marsh, composers and Artemis members, share these thoughts: We wrote this song because the lesbian community needs and deserves it. The song documents our journey from secrecy to taking our full place in society. Because we are sometimes overshadowed by louder voices, lesbians need to remind ourselves, the LGBTQ+ community, and the world that lesbians have a long history, innumerable stories, and ever-growing pride. The song reminds us, too, that each woman travels her own journey, and while there are plenty of challenges along the way, we will stand with one another in solidarity to face them. Importantly, the song ends on a hopeful note, reaching our hands out to other lesbians on their journey, because we are stronger together. "Love shows the way."
SAVE-THE-DATES
Sister Singers Network
13th National Women's Choral Festival


WE ROCK THE WORLD!!!
June 28 - July 2, 2023 in Cleveland, OH
 
Members of Windsong, Cleveland's Feminist Chorus; MUSE, Cincinnati Women’s Choir; and Columbus Women’s Chorus are busy planning a fabulous festival for us. Does your chorus typically fundraise to assist singers with registration, travel and/or lodging? If you have suggestions on fundraising initiatives that have helped your chorus get to the festival in the past, please submit your ideas to communications@sistersingers.net by 3/1/2022 and we'll share them with you.

Artistic Director Roundtable 


The Artistic Director Roundtable is a chance to chat casually and hang out with directors in similar roles to other SSN choruses. Discussion is free-flowing, as we seek to compare notes and help one another. Come prepared to share your experience, listen with empathy, and ask questions. All chorus-related topics are welcome. 
 
The AD Roundtable meets on the 1st Monday of the month at 8:00pm Eastern Time and the 3rd Friday of the month at 4:30pm Eastern Time. See the SSN Calendar for times and Zoom Links. The next gathering is Friday, February 18, 4:30 - 5:30pm Eastern Time (3:30pm Central / 2:30pm Mountain/ 1:30pm Pacific/ 12:30pm Alaska). This opportunity for ADs to talk with one another is time well spent. Consider joining the discussion any time you’re available.

SSN LEADERSHIP FORUM

Are you a current or aspiring leader in your chorus? Are you on the board, do you lead your section or chair a committee?  Join others who support the operations of Network choirs! Every month on a Thursday or Friday evening, we meet other leaders and share chorus-related operational challenges—what's working and what we are scratching our heads over.

See the SSN Calendar for times and Zoom Links. The next gathering is Friday, February 18, 8:00 - 9:00pm Eastern Time (7pm Central/ 6pm Mountain/ 5pm Pacific/ 4pm Alaska). 

Beyond Understanding to Connecting     


Experience the radical practice of deep listening in The Listening Circle. The art and practice of listening connects us with authenticity and open-heartedness. People entering into deep listening with each other have opened up to perspectives and needs different from their own. Sign up for the 90-minute session and learn the practices for yourself and also how to bring The Listening Circle to your chorus.
 
The Listening Circle meets every 4th Tuesday of the month. The next session is Tuesday, February 22, 7:30 - 9:00pm Eastern Time (6:30pm Central/ 5:30pm Mountain/ 4:30pm Pacific/ 3:30pm Alaska). REGISTER HERE
Encourage folks to sign up on this MailChimp List to get information
about future Sister Singers Network Webinars and Events.

 
SSN also uses the ChorusWomen elist as a major form of communication.
To join, log in to any Google account you use, navigate to

https://groups.google.com/d/forum/choruswomen 
and click Apply for membership OR 
send an email to 
Web Goddess and request to be added to the list.

Action by each of us benefits all of us.
Thanks for helping strengthen Sister Singers Network!
Forward to Another Chorus Member Forward to Another Chorus Member
Copyright © 2022 Sister Singers Network, All rights reserved.


Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp