The ARPA-E Newsletter: September 2012
Pramod Khargonekar Photo

New Deputy Director for Technology

ARPA-E recently welcomed Dr. Pramod P. Khargonekar as its new Deputy Director for Technology. Dr. Khargonekar is responsible for oversight of all technology issues relating to ARPA-E’s programs. He also serves as the Eckis Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Florida.

Dr. Khargonekar has held faculty positions at the Universities of Florida, Minnesota, and Michigan. At The University of Michigan, he was Chairman of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from 1997 to 2001 and also held the position of Claude E. Shannon Professor of Engineering Science. From 2001 to 2009, he was Dean of the College of Engineering at the University of Florida.

Dr. Khargonekar’s current research and teaching interests include systems and control theory, machine learning, and applications to smart electric grid, neural engineering, and autonomous adversarial systems. He is a Fellow of IEEE and has been recognized as a Web of Science Highly Cited Researcher. He is a recipient of the NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, the American Automatic Control Council’s Eckman Award, the IEEE Baker Prize Award, the IEEE George Axelby Award, and Distinguished Alumnus Award from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay. He currently serves as a member of the Advisory Committee for the Engineering Directorate of the National Science Foundation.

Dr. Khargonekar received a B. Tech. Degree in electrical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, in 1977, and a M.S. degree in mathematics and Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from the University of Florida in 1980 and 1981, respectively.

ARPA-E University: Winning Technical Proposals


Funding applications often require something shorter than a research paper, but more substantive than a business pitch—you need a technical pitch. Join ARPA-E Program Directors Dr. Dane Boysen and Dr. Ilan Gur on Wednesday, October 3rd for the next installment of the ARPA-E University webinar series. Dane and Ilan will share their 5 best practices and 5 deadly sins for writing technical proposals.

Participants will also learn about ARPA-E’s mission and unique role in funding energy innovation. While the webinar will use concepts from the ARPA-E funding selection process, the proposal strategies are applicable to anyone who communicates complex technical information in a short format. Registration is free.

2013 Summit Website

The 2013 ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit website is now live at! Visit the site for details on both in-person and virtual registration options as well as information on the Technology Showcase. We'll update the site as exciting new keynote speakers and panel topics are added, so be sure to check back often.

The Future of ARPA-E Research

ARPA-E’s Principal Deputy Director Eric Toone spoke with Technology Review about potential areas the agency might focus its research efforts. Read more about Toone’s take on the future of ARPA-E projects—from ultra-low-cost hydrogen to denser biofuel crops, here.

ARPA-E Grant Recipient Advances Carbon Capture Technology

With the help of ARPA-E funding, researchers at the Lawrence Berkeley National Lab have created a breakthrough computer model that could accelerate the search for lower cost and more efficient ways to capture carbon dioxide from coal-powered plants. Read more about their potentially game-changing innovation here.

Our mailing address is:
Advanced Research Projects Agency - Energy (ARPA-E)
1000 Independence Avenue Southwest
Washington, DC 20585

Add us to your address book