Copy
Today is Picture Day! 
View this email in your browser
Picture Day!
  • Today is a free dress day
  • Parent volunteers are needed, call the main office if you are available to help. 
  • No payment is required up front.
  • Parents will be sent a unique code to open and view their students photo(s).
  • Proofs for viewing and ordering will be available online on Friday, November 20th and sent via email. 
Dates

Wed, Nov 18 - Picture Day - Free dress 

Wed, Nov 18 - Poly Site Night, 5:30pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Nov 19 - Fun Thursday sales - check Facebook for details and bring your dollars. 

Thu, Nov 19, Wilson Site Night6:00pm - 8:00pm

Fri, Nov 20 - Faculty Academy Day - no school

Mon, Nov 23 - Fri, Nov 27Thanksgiving Break

To Do
Looking for something to do over Thanksgiving Break? Take a look at our Pinterest board titled Creativity at Home
CDSC Conference & the virtues
Big things are happening! Yesterday, Principal Bryant, Ms. Noble, Mr. Fountain and Mrs. Montiel lead a session titled, "Teaching for Deep Understanding: How a Focus on Intellectual Character Shifts the Classroom and School Culture" at the Charter Schools Development Center Conference. It was very exciting! 45-50 people were in attendance for the CSDC workshop and there was great participation from the attendees. Way to think!
IVA in the Press

Long Beach's Intellectual Virtues Academy Looking To Bring Its Unique Model To High School Students


On a recent morning at Intellectual Virtues Academy, a charter middle school in Long Beach, science students were learning about plate tectonics when a young man raised his hand.

“Then why are there earthquakes in places without plates?” he asked.

Read the full Gazette article here
PTSA News
We still have time to reach our goal...please continue to send in your donations! 

If you do not wish to login to Learn 2 Earn for the PTSA fundraiser, you may send in donations directly to the office. Please make checks payable to "IVA PTA" by this Friday.

The PTSA annually funds 6 field trips (3 full school and 3 grade level field trips), classroom enrichment and supplies, outdoor fitness, dances, and club activities. In addition this year we are also looking to fund chairs, tables and lunch benches to compliment the lockers and benches that are on order for our new Fox Corner of the blacktop!
High School Choice
As LBUSD Team High School Choice, in collaboration with the high school teams, strives to provide a clear, transparent, selection system and consistent information to all parents,  district-wide, they also have a goal of equalizing access to all pathways. This has resulted in a thorough document review.

Upon the additional review, there has been an adjustment in the minimum criteria to a few pathways within the district. The rationale for the revision is to better align the minimum criteria for these pathways with the 43 others. It has been decided by our Superintendent that these changes will go into effect today, and that there will be no further changes made this year. See below for changes: 
Announcing a new, free, public high school in Long Beach. Intellectual Virtues Academy opens in August 2016 with 120 ninth-graders. Their mission is to inspire growth in "intellectual virtues," the deep, personal qualities of an excellent thinker and life-long learner.  

High School CHOICE Info Nights at IVA middle school
Monday, November 30, 6:30pm
Monday, December 14, 7:30pm
Thursday, January 14, 6:30pm


Learn more at academylongbeach.org and connect on Facebook.
Connect with IVA faculty!

Staff: We have four dedicated staff members at IVA!
Jacquie Bryant, Principal - jacquie.bryant@ivalongbeach.org
Amos Mikaele, Counselor - amos.mikaele@ivalongbeach.org
Danielle Montiel, Program Administrator - danielle.montiel@ivalongbeach.org
Diana Bosetti, Admin Assistant - diana.bosetti@ivalongbeach.org

Send in Notice of Absences: attendance@ivalongbeach.org

Teachers: We have 8 amazing teachers at IVA!
Claudia Campos, Science - claudia.campos@ivalongbeach.org
Angel Cutno, Music and Interpersonal Comm. - angel.cutno@ivalongbeach.org
Sabine Deeble, German 1-2 and PE 6 - sabine.deeble@ivalongbeach.org
Roberta Denis, Art and English 6 - roberta.denis@ivalongbeach.org
Chris Fountain, History - chris.fountain@ivalongbeach.org
Jana McAdams, Physical Education and Math 6 - jana.mcadams@ivalongbeach.org
Ian McCurry, English and History 6 - ian.mccurry@ivalongbeach.org
Cari Noble, Math and Science 6 - cari.noble@ivalongbeach.org
Copyright © 2015 Intellectual Virtues Academy Long Beach, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp