Copy
Read on for important dates and information
View this email in your browser

Coffee & Conversation

Join us for a morning cup of coffee! 

Friday, May 6th from 8:00am to 9:00am in the main office. 

Come talk with fellow parents and IVA staff and get a special visit from IVA students. Bring your favorite coffee mug!

Hooray for Lockers! 

Have you heard!? Our students were assigned their lockers this week! Now lunches and backpacks have a place to live and students can swap out supplies during the passing period. A huge thank-you to the PTSA for making this happen! 
Dates

Thu, Apr 28 - Fun Thursday - Math club will be selling nachos for $1.00!

Fri, Apr 29 - due date for Tdap immunization, 6th graders

Fri, May 6 - Coffee and Conversation with the Principal 8:00 am in the office

Sun, May 15 - New Student Ice Cream Social led by Student Leaders 3:30 pm 

Mon, May 16 - 6th Grade Field Trip to the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Permission slips available in Illuminate next week.

Thu, May 19 - PTSA General Meeting

Thu, May 19 - Parent Academy

Fri, May 20 - 8th Grade Field Trip to the Great Wall of Los Angeles and Autry Museum of the American West. Permission slips available in Illuminate next week.

Thu, May 24 - Open House 6:30 pm

Mon, May 30 - Memorial Day, no school

Thu, Jun 2 - 8th Grade Pool Day at the Petroleum Club, 1:00-5:00 pm

Thu, Jun 9 - 8th Grade Beach Day at the Leeway Sailing Center, departing IVA at 10 am

Fri, Jun 10 - 8th Grade Dance, dinner will be served at 6:00 pm

Wed, Jun 15 - 8th Grade Promotion Ceremony at 6:00 pm

For CLUB meetings click here

From our Principal
Upcoming Parent Academy

Dear parents, 

Our advisories are one of the most distinctive elements of our school program and help provide a place where students’ curiosity is intentionally grown. Have you ever wondered what goes on in those advisory groups? Well, come and experience advisory for yourself!

Join families on Thursday, May 19th for the last PTSA general meeting and Parent Academy night of the year. 
Ms. Bryant will lead her own “Principal Advisory.”
For any advisory exploration, students are asked to prepare the following:

1) A how or why big question that address what they are curious about
2) Provide a text to focus on: podcast, video, article, etc.
3) Choose a thinking routine to help their group explore their question together

Come and help Mrs. Bryant, her staff, and advisors to explore the big question: How can parents best be involved in their child’s education at IVA?

We will have the social hall set up for parent groups of 8 with a facilitator at each table - we would value your participation! Please come share with us your thoughts on how parents can best be involved in their student's education at IVA. 

Where: IVA Social Hall
When: PTSA General Meeting at 6:00pm; Parent Academy from 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Who: All families welcome! 

To learn and live well, 
Jacquie
PTSA News
LUNCH for SALE!

Want a break from packing your student's lunch? Friday is your lucky day! Lunches are Prepaid only. On Thursdays after school, at the black gate, we will collect $5.00 and add your student's name to the lunch list - hooray! 

Teacher Appreciation Week : May 2-6
Here's how we're showing our appreciation for our teachers!
  • Two posters will be made available for kids to sign and post in the office.
  • Parent volunteers will bring coffee, bagels and donuts on Thu, May 5th in the morning for teachers, staff and advisors to enjoy.  
  • PTSA will also be giving a gift card to IVA teachers/staff to enjoy a lunch together off campus.
If you would like to contribute, please see our Teacher's Wish List
Toxic Turtle Travel Schedule
This Saturday & Sunday!

The Toxic Turtle will be displayed at the Aquarium of the Pacific on this Saturday and Sunday for the Urban Ocean Festival. Stop by and say hello!

Counselor's Corner
This morning, Wednesday, April 27, I am scheduled to meet with our 7th graders during office hours for School of CHOICE information. Students will receive a middle school career and interest survey to complete, and most importantly, will learn about calculating their High School Academic Index (HSAI). Families should take note that the survey is only one lens to possible pathway programs students might take interest in and is not the only way to make a decision. Our emphasis at IVA is based on character growth and development, and given the nature of how the School of CHOICE application focuses merely on student data (Academic GPA, HSAI, ELA/Math Scale Score, and Math Level), I think it is important to have a conversation with our students on what a sound education consists of. I'm hoping our students see that they cannot be judged by these things alone, and that their output will either limit or give them access. I'm scheduled to meet with our 6th graders on Friday, April 29, during office hours about the School of CHOICE process as well, with more emphasis on the HSAI.

Reminder for 8th grade families
If you have not received any notification of your student's high school registration for the upcoming school year, please contact your student's high school's main office for more details. If you need transcripts, I am available to send those to you directly. Any other documents, such as state test scores, please give us a 3-day notice to retrieve those records for you at hand. For additional questions, comments, and/or concerns, feel free to contact me directly or by scheduling an appointment. 


Amos Mikaele, Counselor
amos.mikaele@ivalongbeach.org

Athletics
Upcoming Events
  • Wednesday, April 27 T&F practice at IVA from 3:30-4:30pm
  • Thursday, April 28 Soccer practice at IVA from 1:00-2:30pm
  • Friday, April 29 FINAL T&F meet at Culver City High School at 5:00pm EARLY RELEASE FOR ATHLETES AT 2:45pm
  • Monday, May 2 Soccer practice at IVA from 3:30-4:30pm

Athletics waiver
Please check Illuminate for any outstanding athletic waiver release forms that need to be filled out for either T&F or Soccer!

Track & Field
  • Last T&F meet on Friday, April 29 at Culver City High School at 5:00 pm 
  • Early release for athletes on Friday at 2:45pm to leave IVA by 3:00pm (no school transportation)
  • Jersey distribution on Thursday afternoon right after school with Ms. McAdams.
Soccer

Practices are being held on Mondays and Thursdays after school at IVA! Mondays from 3:30-4:30 pm and Thursdays from 1:00-2:30 pm

Connect with IVA faculty!
Staff: We have five dedicated staff members at IVA!
Jacquie Bryant, Principal - jacquie.bryant@ivalongbeach.org
Amos Mikaele, Counselor - amos.mikaele@ivalongbeach.org
Danielle Montiel, Program Administrator - danielle.montiel@ivalongbeach.org
Diana Bosetti, Admin Assistant - diana.bosetti@ivalongbeach.org
Natasha Garcia, Admin Assistant - natasha.garcia@ivalongbeach.org

Send in Notice of Absences: attendance@ivalongbeach.org

Teachers: We have 10 amazing teachers at IVA!
Bob Geminder, Math - bob.geminder@ivalongbeach.org
Claudia Campos, Science - claudia.campos@ivalongbeach.org
Angel Cutno, Music and Interpersonal Comm. - angel.cutno@ivalongbeach.org
Sabine Deeble, German 1-2 - sabine.deeble@ivalongbeach.org
Roberta Denis, Art and English 6 - roberta.denis@ivalongbeach.org
Chris Fountain, History - chris.fountain@ivalongbeach.org
Jana McAdams, Physical Education and Math 6 - jana.mcadams@ivalongbeach.org
Ian McCurry, English and History 6 - ian.mccurry@ivalongbeach.org
Cari Noble, Math and Science 6 - cari.noble@ivalongbeach.org
Adam Rodriguez, PE 6 and 8 - adam.rodriguez@ivalongbeach.org

Our board chairman welcomes your questions and concerns.
Dr. Eric Churchill, eric.churchill@ivalongbeach.org
Copyright © 2016 Intellectual Virtues Academy Long Beach, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp