Copy
Read on for important dates and information
View this email in your browser

Puttin' on the Ritz

Our Yearbook committee is now accepting photo submissions for possible inclusion in our 2015-2016 IVA Yearbook! Please email photos to yearbook@ivalongbeach.org. Thank you! 

Survey Says...?

8th grade Parents - FINAL CHANCE! We're requesting your feedback for the 8th Grade Promotion Ceremony! To have a voice please give us a tentative RSVP. 
Tell us Your Prefrence Now
Dates

Wed, Apr 20 - T&F "Field Day" practice at Los Cerritos Park

Thu, Apr 21 - Fun Thursday - Math club will be selling In-n-out burgers for $4.00!! 

Fri, Apr 22
- Faculty Academy, no school

Fri, Apr 29 - due date for Tdap immunization, 6th graders

Thu, May 5 - PTSA General Meeting RESCHEDULED

Thu, May 5 - Parent Academy RESCHEDULED new date TBA

Fri, May 6 - Coffee and Conversation with the Principal 8:00 am in the office

Sun, May 15 - New Student Ice Cream Social led by Student Leaders 3:30 pm 

Thu, May 24 - Open House 6:30 pm

Mon, May 30 - Memorial Day, no school

Thu, Jun 2 - 8th Grade Pool Day at the Petroleum Club at 1:00 pm

Thu, Jun 9 - 8th Grade Beach Day at the Leeway Sailing Center

Wed, Jun 15 - 8th Grade Promotion Ceremony at 6:00 pm

For CLUB meetings click here

From the Office
1. 6th graders! Reminder Tdap booster due by Friday, April 29. Thank you to all who have submitted evidence of your Tdap booster! 

2. Registration deadline for new students is May 6th. Registration takes place in Illuminate via the Parent Portal. If you're a current IVA family with an incoming 6th grader, you should be able view your new student's name when you log in to your Illuminate Parent Portal and complete registration by following the prompts. Contact the IVA office if you need any support. If you're a returning IVA student, there is no action required. 

3. LOST & FOUND will be donated April 22! Don't loose your sweatshirts and sweaters or reusable items! Celebrate Earth month and claim your lunch sacks, water bottles, and containers! 
From our Principal
Discipline and Safety at IVA

Last Friday there was an incident in our 7th grade Music class that resulted in a student being removed from the class and concerns of safety by students and then also by parents. Our safety and discipline plans were followed and we are continuing to respond to and process this incident with carefulness and in line with our policy. 

There might be an unfortunate misperception that because we focus on growth in virtues we are lax in discipline. Some of this misperception is a result of our carefulness to provide privacy protection for student discipline records and follow FERPA laws. We do not announce the suspensions, the behavior plans, or any other consequences that students receive to other students or parents. We are engaging in more restorative practices to involve  groups of students and families together to process through incidents and take accountable responsibility for their part. This movement toward restoration will help to communicate our discipline. 

My Responsibility as Principal at IVA 
Our school values intentional openness and a culture of thinking. As principal, this means that I seek to understand concerns, am willing to admit my mistakes, and learn from each situation to ensure that steps are taken for safety of our students so that they have a middle school environment where they can continue to experience meaningful growth and engage the world around them.

My Mistake:
I did not send out communication to families until three days after the incident and did not realize that there was a concern brewing amongst parents. Had I communicated immediately, it might have providing open communication and let families know the steps that we have taken or provide a path to hearing concerns. 

The specific steps we are taking in response to this incident is to:
  1. give students time to debrief with the counselor,
  2. review our discipline policy and safety plan to ensure we responded and continue to respond in line with our policy,
  3. add additional staff training in emergency response, and
  4. schedule our practice drills with students concerning unexpected incidents on campus. 
If you have any questions about our policies please contact me directly to set up a time to talk or come to our upcoming parent events like our Coffee and Conversation coming up May 6. You can also learn more about our discipline policies on our website here

To learn and live well, 
Jacquie
PTSA News
LUNCH for SALE!

Want a break from packing your student's lunch? Friday is your lucky day! Lunches are Prepaid only. On Thursdays after school, at the black gate, we will collect $5.00 and add your student's name to the lunch list - hooray! 
Spirit Wear for SALE! 
Only 2 Days LEFT!
Our Spirit Wear Webstore is open for business through April 21st. Don't miss this opportunity to purchase tees for your students or for yourself! 
Counselor's Corner
8th Grade Families: As high school registration for our 8th graders is in transition, there are many forms and documents families must submit. One of the more common documents highs schools might request may be your student's transcripts. Though we are able to give you a printout upon request, we are currently working with Illuminate to enable this option for access in your Parent Portal. For any other documents you might need, such as your student's state test scores, please give us a 3-day notice to retrieve those records for you at hand.

I'm scheduled to meet with our 6th and 7th graders next week during office hours to discuss the School of CHOICE process. For any other questions, comments, and/or concerns, feel free to send me an email or schedule an appointment. 


Amos Mikaele, Counselor
amos.mikaele@ivalongbeach.org

Athletics
Upcoming Events
  • Thursday, April 21 Soccer practice at IVA from 1:00-2:30pm
  • Monday, April 25 Soccer practice at IVA from 3:30-4:30pm
  • Wednesday, April 27 T&F practice at IVA from 3:30-4:30pm
  • Friday, April 29 FINAL T&F meet at Culver City High School at 5:00pm
Track & Field
  • Field day practice Wednesday at Los Cerritos Park at 3:30. Parents, please provide transportation for your students to practice. Even if your athlete is not participating in field events, there is still practice that can be done for the running events
  • Last T&F meet on Friday, April 29 at Culver City High School at 5pm
  • Please email Ms. McAdams with your event entries BY Tuesday, April 26
Soccer
  • Practice begins THIS Thursday at IVA from 1:00-2:30pm (note the updated time)
  • Additional Monday practices at IVA are from 3:30-4:30pm
Connect with IVA faculty!
Staff: We have five dedicated staff members at IVA!
Jacquie Bryant, Principal - jacquie.bryant@ivalongbeach.org
Amos Mikaele, Counselor - amos.mikaele@ivalongbeach.org
Danielle Montiel, Program Administrator - danielle.montiel@ivalongbeach.org
Diana Bosetti, Admin Assistant - diana.bosetti@ivalongbeach.org
Natasha Garcia, Admin Assistant - natasha.garcia@ivalongbeach.org

Send in Notice of Absences: attendance@ivalongbeach.org

Teachers: We have 10 amazing teachers at IVA!
Bob Geminder, Math - bob.geminder@ivalongbeach.org
Claudia Campos, Science - claudia.campos@ivalongbeach.org
Angel Cutno, Music and Interpersonal Comm. - angel.cutno@ivalongbeach.org
Sabine Deeble, German 1-2 - sabine.deeble@ivalongbeach.org
Roberta Denis, Art and English 6 - roberta.denis@ivalongbeach.org
Chris Fountain, History - chris.fountain@ivalongbeach.org
Jana McAdams, Physical Education and Math 6 - jana.mcadams@ivalongbeach.org
Ian McCurry, English and History 6 - ian.mccurry@ivalongbeach.org
Cari Noble, Math and Science 6 - cari.noble@ivalongbeach.org
Adam Rodriguez, PE 6 and 8 - adam.rodriguez@ivalongbeach.org

Our board chairman welcomes your questions and concerns.
Dr. Eric Churchill, eric.churchill@ivalongbeach.org
Copyright © 2016 Intellectual Virtues Academy Long Beach, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp