Copy
Mark your calendars with these important dates
View this email in your browser

Finishing Strong

Dear parents and students. Continue to check Illuminate to see what assignments might be missing. Take your list of missed assignments (and low scoring assignments) and go to office hours to ask your teacher something like this: Which assignment would you allow me to redo? Which one that is allowable would be the most strategic assignment for me to complete to to support my grade in class? 

I spoke with both 6th grade classes yesterday and asked them by a show of hands how many of them would say that their grades represent their capability in class. Out of our 56 students there were 10 that were confident with their current grade. This means that our teachers should be seeing at least 46 6th graders in office hours in the next few days. Please remember parents to encourage your kids to strategically address any concerns in grades and not expect to be able to make up for a whole semester in a short time. The last day to turn in missed assignments or to make up assignments is next Friday, Jan 15. The semester ends Thursday, Jan 28th. 

Principal Bryant
Dates

Thu, Jan 28 -Wed, Jan 13 - High School CHOICE application is DUE

Thu, Jan 14 - Fun Thursday : Math Club

Thu, Jan 14 - the Academy High School CHOICE Info Night

Mon, Jan 18 - Martin Luther King Jr. Day - no school

Thu, Jan 21 - Basketball Game

Fri, Jan 22 - Winter Dance 6:30 – 9:00pm

Tue, Jan 26 - Middle School Family CHOICE Info Night

Thu, Jan 28 - Art & Music Showcase

Thu, Jan 28 - Basketball Game 2

Thu, Feb 25 - Special Screening of the film, Beyond Measure

Wanted

Photographer needed for Winter Dance Photo Booth! Interested parties please contact our Dance Chair, Ms. Andrade

High School CHOICE Applications Due in one week - January 13th
If 8th grade parents still have not registered on ParentVue, you are welcome to call Jenni Brown at (562) 997-8455 for assistance. Right now, it's taking an estimated 10 minutes per parent to establish an account and orient them to the system. For parents experiencing technical problems with ParentVue servers (e.g., student information not loading, application link not opening) they can seek support by either calling the High School CHOICE Hotline at (562) 997-8306 or in person at the High School CHOICE office located at 1515 Hughes Way, Long Beach, CA 90807 on the 3rd floor.
Save the Date - Winter Dance
The Winter Dance is Friday, January 22nd from 6:30 – 9:00 pm
Start practicing your dance moves for our two flash mobs during the dance! The songs with coordinated dance moves are: The Black Eyed Peas, “I gotta feeling” from Just Dance 2016, and Pharrell Williams, “Happy” from Just Dance 2015. When either of the two songs are played students can participate by dancing the choreographed moves for that song. You can learn the dance moves by clicking on the links above and practicing at home in the next two weeks. Looking forward to a great night out with our FOX friends!  Please dress comfortable ready to dance!
From our Principal
Dear IVA families,

Today at our monthly PTSA meeting (Parent Teacher Student Association) in addition to our regular parent board members and Ms. Andrade (our parent volunteer making the winter dance happen!) we had four student representatives. Our student council, under the leadership of Mr. Fountain, is working to get themselves into a productive group of students who, through committees, are bringing together the student community. Our student council is making our 12 clubs possible. Thank you Mr. Fountain and Student Council! Thank you dear PTSA Executive Board! This group of parents organize and support all of our extra curricular activities and keep our community going. Without our PTSA leadership we wouldn’t have our field trips, lunch benches, extra classroom enrichment funds, dances, and much much more. Thank you dear parent leadership group!!

To live and learn well,
Jacquie
Rainy Days Pick-up
Drive Thru Drop Off: Enter from the 36th street gate and exit through the Elm street gate

Pick Up - 2 Lanes: Enter at 36th street, exit Elm. We will have two lanes on the blacktop. The outside or left-hand lane is for driving and the inside or right-hand lane is for loading (only if you see your child).

If you do not see your child please take a lap around the block to enter back on 36th street until your child arrives. We will open the gate at 3:14pm when school is released so that we don't encourage parking on the blacktop in order to protect students from the blacktop traffic.
Middle School CHOICE
We are currently accepting applications for next year's 6th, 7th and 8th grade classes. Current IVA students do not need to reapply, but we ask all returning students to complete Intent to Re-Enroll forms in February. Siblings of current students are exempt from the lottery. Siblings must complete an application for admission. Applications are due March 18, 2016.

Our next Middle School Family Choice Night is January 26, 2016. Spread the word!
Apply Now
Athletics
Basketball: Forms and payment are due next Monday, January 11. Please turn in to front office!
Special Event
Beyond Measure Trailer
Connect with IVA faculty!
Staff: We have four dedicated staff members at IVA!
Jacquie Bryant, Principal - jacquie.bryant@ivalongbeach.org
Amos Mikaele, Counselor - amos.mikaele@ivalongbeach.org
Danielle Montiel, Program Administrator - danielle.montiel@ivalongbeach.org
Diana Bosetti, Admin Assistant - diana.bosetti@ivalongbeach.org

Send in Notice of Absences: attendance@ivalongbeach.org

Teachers: We have 8 amazing teachers at IVA!
Claudia Campos, Science - claudia.campos@ivalongbeach.org
Angel Cutno, Music and Interpersonal Comm. - angel.cutno@ivalongbeach.org
Sabine Deeble, German 1-2 and PE 6 - sabine.deeble@ivalongbeach.org
Roberta Denis, Art and English 6 - roberta.denis@ivalongbeach.org
Chris Fountain, History - chris.fountain@ivalongbeach.org
Jana McAdams, Physical Education and Math 6 - jana.mcadams@ivalongbeach.org
Ian McCurry, English and History 6 - ian.mccurry@ivalongbeach.org
Cari Noble, Math and Science 6 - cari.noble@ivalongbeach.org

Our board chairman welcomes your questions and concerns.
Dr. Eric Churchill, eric.churchill@ivalongbeach.org
Copyright © 2016 Intellectual Virtues Academy Long Beach, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp