Copy
7th & 8th Grade parents - Fill Out Your Survey Now! 
View this email in your browser

Final Chance to Take Survey

Our staff desires to continually grow and we depend on student and parent feedback to help us do this. Please provide your feedback by taking the Mid Year 19 questions survey so that we can reflect on our practices. If you have more than one student please take the survey more than once. Thank you!

We need just a few more: 
8 more 7th grade families 
3 more 8th grade families

We value your feedback!
Take Survey Now
Dates

Wed, Mar 16-18 - Parent-Teacher-Student Conversations continue, Minimum Day Schedule, dismissed at 12:40

Thu, Mar 17-19 - LA County Science Fair

Thu, Mar 17 - Fun Thursday Pizza sales supporting Track & Field

Fri, Mar 18 - Minimum Day, school is dismissed at 12:40

Tue, Mar 22 - Vision and Hearing Screening for 8th grade students

Fri, Mar 25 - Spring Recess Begins

Thu, Apr 7 - Spirit Wear Store ReOpens

Thu, Apr 14 - Spring Dance

Fri, Apr 15 - Spring Parent Social & Fundraiser

For CLUB meetings click here

Save the Date
"Old Hollywood" Spring Dance
Thursday, April 14th, 6:00-8:30 pm
Please note earlier start time
Save the Date
Spring Fundraiser and Dance
Friday, April 15th
Stay tuned to learn more
Reflections on 112 Minute Classes
Student, Parent, Teacher Conversations create a minimum day schedule all week with 77 minute classes, which is longer than quite a few normal middle school classes but are greatly reduced from our regular class schedule. One student commented to a teacher - "We shouldn't even try to do anything in class because there is just no time."  

Our shortened schedule is making us realize what our regular 112 minute class schedule afford us. Here are a few thoughts from students and teachers:
  • In our 112 minute class we have amazing conversations that have great detail. Also, we do thinking routines that further our thinking.                       - Andrew Tannourji, Grade 6
  • We have class discussions, practice ways of thinking, make sure we really understand things, and using thinking routines to guide us!                        - Corrinne Hoban, Grade 7
  • In our 112 minute class we have amazing conversations that have great detail. Also, we do thinking routines that further our thinking.                       - Andrew Tannourji, Grade 6
  • We don't have all of our classes each day.                     - Willem deWit, Grade 8
  • In this time we begin with a warm up, then lead into the subject to be focused on. With challenging ideas brought up, students are able to ask questions and learn about concepts. As well, more individualized learning helps support students at different levels of understanding.                                     - Emma Jensen, Grade 8
  • We have time to go over things again and make sure everyone understands.                                            - Isaac Seydel, Grade 8
  • We have time for teamwork - students teaching students!                                                                            -Mr. Geminder, Pre-Algebra
  • So much time to think and go deeper!                              -Ms. McAdams, Math 6,  PE 7, and PE 8      
Find out more about why we schedule the classes and the academic calendar year in the way that we do here on our website. You can also catch a glimpse of the draft 2016-2017 school year calendar whose school days are all correct with events likely to change. 

Remember to schedule a student, parent, teacher conversation! We have a few openings on Thursday and Friday for families who have not yet signed up. Call the office to schedule a time at 562-912-7017. 
Athletics
Upcoming Events
Wed, March 16 Track & Field practice from 1:00-2:00 pm
Thu, March 17 Fun Thursday pizza sales for Track & Field!
Wed, March 23 Track & Field practice
from 3:30-4:30 pm

Athletics
Soccer
will begin after Spring Break! An informational email will be sent out soon.

Athletics
Track & Field season is fast approaching. For those students who may be interested, I wanted to give you some information about what the Track & Field season entails.

We will be participating under FIYA (www.onfiya.org), an LA county based multi-sport league that caters to middle schools who do not otherwise have access to district sports programs. FIYA has three confirmed track meets for this year:
Saturday, April 9 at Notre Dame High School at 11am
Sunday, April 17
at Serra High School at 12pm
Friday, April 29
at Culver City High School at 4pm

If you are interested in participating, please contact Ms. McAdams
Connect with IVA faculty!
Staff: We have five dedicated staff members at IVA!
Jacquie Bryant, Principal - jacquie.bryant@ivalongbeach.org
Amos Mikaele, Counselor - amos.mikaele@ivalongbeach.org
Danielle Montiel, Program Administrator - danielle.montiel@ivalongbeach.org
Diana Bosetti, Admin Assistant - diana.bosetti@ivalongbeach.org
Natasha Garcia, Admin Assistant - natasha.garcia@ivalongbeach.org

Send in Notice of Absences: attendance@ivalongbeach.org

Teachers: We have 10 amazing teachers at IVA!
Bob Geminder, Math - bob.geminder@ivalongbeach.org
Claudia Campos, Science - claudia.campos@ivalongbeach.org
Angel Cutno, Music and Interpersonal Comm. - angel.cutno@ivalongbeach.org
Sabine Deeble, German 1-2 - sabine.deeble@ivalongbeach.org
Roberta Denis, Art and English 6 - roberta.denis@ivalongbeach.org
Chris Fountain, History - chris.fountain@ivalongbeach.org
Jana McAdams, Physical Education and Math 6 - jana.mcadams@ivalongbeach.org
Ian McCurry, English and History 6 - ian.mccurry@ivalongbeach.org
Cari Noble, Math and Science 6 - cari.noble@ivalongbeach.org
Adam Rodriguez, PE 6 and 8 - adam.rodriguez@ivalongbeach.org

Our board chairman welcomes your questions and concerns.
Dr. Eric Churchill, eric.churchill@ivalongbeach.org
Copyright © 2016 Intellectual Virtues Academy Long Beach, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp