Copy
Don't forget to sign those field trip permission slips!
View this email in your browser

Our Inaugural Class: 8th Grade Promotion Events

Promotion 
8th Grade Promotion is on Wednesday, June 15th. Tickets will NOT be sold at the promotion ceremony. Tickets are available for purchase in the office for $5.00 each until Friday, June 3rd. Be sure to purchase your tickets by FRIDAY as you cannot attend the promotion ceremony without a ticket.   

Pool Day: Thursday, June 2nd is the 8th grade celebration at Petroleum Club. Permission slips are on Illuminate. Students need to bring a towel, swim suit, and sunscreen. Lunch will be provided. Pick up at Petroleum Club by 5:00 pm

Beach Day: Thursday, June 9th is the 8th grade beach day at the Leeway Sailing Center. Students must submit a signed waiver from the Leeway Sailing Center to participate (please see below). Bus will return to IVA by 4:00 pm.   

STILL Needed: 6th Grade Parent Volunteers! We still need volunteers to support the 8th-grade promotion ceremony (held the evening before our last day of school). Please contact Judy Hunter if you can volunteer anytime on Wednesday, June 15th.
Dates

Thu, Jun 2 - 8th Grade Pool Day at the Petroleum Club, 1:00-5:00 pm

Fri, Jun 3 - FREE Dress day - the students won the second annual Students v Staff Soccer Match!

Fri, Jun 3 - Thank you to volunteers! is the theme of  "Coffee and Conversation"  

Fri, Jun 3 - Final Make-up day for missing assignments or retakes

Fri, Jun 3 - New Student Beach Day led by Student Leaders,
5:30pm-7:00pm 

Mon, Jun 6 - 6th and 7th graders to Getty Museum *all permission slips in Illuminate

Thu, Jun 9 - 8th Grade Beach Day at the Leeway Sailing Center, departing IVA at 10 am

Fri, Jun 10 - 8th Grade Dance, dinner will be served at 6:00 pm

Wed, Jun 15 - 8th Grade Promotion Ceremony at 6:00 pm

For CLUB meetings click here

Taco Lunch

Tacos are back! Prepay $5.00 on Thursday at the Gate for Friday's lunch. 

From the Office
Volunteers---please join us for coffee and conversation this Friday, June 3rd in your honor.

Volunteer request! Looking for someone with audio visual experience to help us trouble shoot some issues. Please contact Danielle if you're available.
Survey Says? 
Parent End-of-Year Survey!
As a school we value reflection and growth. Please take a few minutes to give us feedback as our year comes to a close. This 32-question survey will give us greater insight into what parents value at our school. 

Help earn another free dress day by submitting this survey before next Wednesday, June 8th. A gift from parents to their kiddos!
 
Take Survey Now
From Our Principal
IVA is Hiring!!

Help us bring quality individuals into our school!
We have 4 open teaching positions in Math, Science, English, and History. Please let your amazing teacher friends know about the opportunity to work in a mission-focused school that implements care for the whole child. Our internal motto is that we serve our students with love and rigor. We will process applications in the month of June. 

We have an open admin-assistant position available on probationary status for the remainder of June with potential to be hired for the 2016-2017 school year. We are looking for thoughtful and welcoming individuals who have a personal care for creating a culture of thinking as a whole school. Send resumes to info@ivalongbeach.org

See the job descriptions for all open positions on our website Job Board. Tell your friends!

To learn and live well, 
Jacquie
Yearbooks!

Prepaid yearbooks were passed out before and after school yesterday, today, and Thursday this week at the gate.

It's not too late! Yearbooks are available for purchase ($20.00 cash or check made out to IVA PTA) on Thursday and Friday after school at the gate.

PTSA News
End of Year Celebration

June 10th: Student Council & PTSA are hosting an end of year celebration on Friday, June 10th for all students. Yogurtland treats will be served during lunch.
Beautifying our campus! The unofficial "FOXES corner" now features benches and newly planted trees!
Athletics
Soccer
The student Foxes played tough and came out with a WIN during last Friday's second annual student vs staff/parent game. A big THANK YOU to Coach Gabe and congrats to the stellar student team! Free dress for all this Friday! 
Connect with IVA faculty!
Staff: We have five dedicated staff members at IVA!
Jacquie Bryant, Principal - jacquie.bryant@ivalongbeach.org
Amos Mikaele, Counselor - amos.mikaele@ivalongbeach.org
Danielle Montiel, Program Administrator - danielle.montiel@ivalongbeach.org
Diana Bosetti, Admin Assistant - diana.bosetti@ivalongbeach.org
Natasha Garcia, Admin Assistant - natasha.garcia@ivalongbeach.org

Send in Notice of Absences: attendance@ivalongbeach.org

Teachers: We have 10 amazing teachers at IVA!
Bob Geminder, Math - bob.geminder@ivalongbeach.org
Claudia Campos, Science - claudia.campos@ivalongbeach.org
Angel Cutno, Music and Interpersonal Comm. - angel.cutno@ivalongbeach.org
Sabine Deeble, German 1-2 - sabine.deeble@ivalongbeach.org
Roberta Denis, Art and English 6 - roberta.denis@ivalongbeach.org
Chris Fountain, History - chris.fountain@ivalongbeach.org
Jana McAdams, Physical Education and Math 6 - jana.mcadams@ivalongbeach.org
Ian McCurry, English and History 6 - ian.mccurry@ivalongbeach.org
Cari Noble, Math and Science 6 - cari.noble@ivalongbeach.org
Adam Rodriguez, PE 6 and 8 - adam.rodriguez@ivalongbeach.org

Our board chairman welcomes your questions and concerns.
Dr. Eric Churchill, eric.churchill@ivalongbeach.org
Copyright © 2016 Intellectual Virtues Academy Long Beach, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp