Copy
Order Spirit Wear and Take Our Survey!
View this email in your browser

Spirit Wear for Sale! 

You can now purchase our embroidered hoodie or Virtues tee online! 
Shop Now
The Web Store is only open through Tuesday, February 15th. Orders placed will be available for pick-up on February 25h and 26th. 

Friendly Foxes Free Dress Day Friday (February 12)

As a celebration of friends everywhere (and coincidentally around the same time as Valentine's Day) Friday, February 12th is going to be a Friendly Foxes day - Free Dress if you dress like a friend (sometimes known as Twins Day). Dress with a whole group or one friend but come matching because we will be taking pictures!!!
Dates

Thu, Feb 11 - Fun Thursday - Candy Grams for sale facilitated by the Student Council

Fri, Feb 12
- Friendly Foxes Free Dress Friday - come "twinning" with one friend or a whole group!

Mon, Feb 15 - Washington’s Birthday - no school 

Thu, Feb 18 - Fun Thursday - Interact Club

Thu, Feb 18 - Basketball Game 4 at 5:00 pm at Everest Value School (668 South Catalina Street, Los Angeles 90051)

Thu, Feb 19 - Science Fair

Mon, Feb 22 - Basketball Game 5 at 4:00 pm at Para Los Ninos (835 Standford Avenue, LA 90021)

Thu, Feb 25 - PTSA General Meeting at 5:30 pm preceding Beyond Measure

Thu, Feb 25 - Special Screening of the film, Beyond Measure at 6:00 pm

Parent Academy
"People need to be energized, they need to be inspired, and they need to have their imaginations fired up." - Sir Ken Robinson.

Imagine an education system that values personal growth over test scores. Inquiry over mimicry. Passion over rankings. What if we decide that the purpose of school is not the transmission of facts or formulas, but the transformation of every student?

Meet the public schools that are daring to reimagine education. And making it happen. Please join us for a special screening of this inspiring film on Thursday, February 25th at IVA. 
Beyond Measure Trailer
From our Principal
Dear families, 

Research shows that people learn best receiving and reflecting on feedback. Our teachers frequently provide feedback for students in class and students get to further experience these moments of reflection in Advisory (more about Advisory next week). 

Our staff desires to continually grow and we depend on student and parent feedback to help us do this. Please provide your feedback by taking the Mid Year 19 questions survey so that we can reflect on our practices. If you have more than one student please take the survey more than once. Thank you!
Take Survey Now
To live and learn well,
Principal Bryant
High School CHOICE 
Families should expect their student's notification of acceptance late February to early March via ParentVUE and by letter to the address on file. All families will receive an acceptance letter. However, if students are accepted to a Secondary Specialized Program, they will have a week to sign their intent to attend. Students accepted to a Small Learning Community do not require a signed intent to attend. For any other questions related to the School of CHOICE, feel free to call the High School CHOICE Hotline at (562) 997-8306 or by visiting the High School CHOICE office located at 1515 Hughes Way, Long Beach, CA 90807 on the 3rd floor.
Intent to Re-enroll 
Will you return to IVA next year? Complete your intent to re-enroll and other forms in Illuminate. Forms are due February 17.

Important admissions dates:
  • February 17: Current IVA students' intent to re-enroll forms due
  • March 7: Student Info Night
  • March 18: Middle School CHOICE Applications Due 
  • April 7: Lottery
After School Academy is Here!
We are excited to announce our After School Academy workshops! Students can choose from four fun, affordable classes after school: Neuroscience, Ceramics, Fiber Art, Just Google It - all about search, and Intro to Spanish!

Take note of the following dates:
February 16: Registration forms due
February 22: Classes begin
Students will receive the attached flyer. More copies are available in the office.
PTSA News
Thank you to all of our wonderful IVA families that have joined the PTSA. A thank you letter and information to join went home with your students last week. Currently 70% of our families have joined the PTSA. Our goal is to have 80% family participation. That’s only 12 more families that could be memebers. When we reach 80%, the full school will earn a pizza party. If you don't see your name on the list, please consider becoming a member. Envelopes are in the office or just put $8 in an envelope, write “PTSA Membership” and have your child turn into the office.  

If you have any questions, please contact Sandra Grace, IVA Membership Chair.
Thank you for your support!
the IVA PTSA 
Athletics
Cross Country / Track & Field: Optional practices held Thursdays after school. Come out and run with us!
 
Basketball: Practices Monday and Wednesday. In the case of a Monday holiday, practices will most likely be moved to Tuesday and Wednesday. Check your email for more information.

Soccer: We are currently in the beginning planning stages for Spring Soccer and are seeking volunteer coaches. Please contact Ms. McAdams if you are willing and able to coach!
Connect with IVA faculty!
Staff: We have five dedicated staff members at IVA!
Jacquie Bryant, Principal - jacquie.bryant@ivalongbeach.org
Amos Mikaele, Counselor - amos.mikaele@ivalongbeach.org
Danielle Montiel, Program Administrator - danielle.montiel@ivalongbeach.org
Diana Bosetti, Admin Assistant - diana.bosetti@ivalongbeach.org
Natasha Garcia, Admin Assistant - natasha.garcia@ivalongbeach.org

Send in Notice of Absences: attendance@ivalongbeach.org

Teachers: We have 10 amazing teachers at IVA!
Bob Geminder, Math - bob.geminder@ivalongbeach.org
Claudia Campos, Science - claudia.campos@ivalongbeach.org
Angel Cutno, Music and Interpersonal Comm. - angel.cutno@ivalongbeach.org
Sabine Deeble, German 1-2 - sabine.deeble@ivalongbeach.org
Roberta Denis, Art and English 6 - roberta.denis@ivalongbeach.org
Chris Fountain, History - chris.fountain@ivalongbeach.org
Jana McAdams, Physical Education and Math 6 - jana.mcadams@ivalongbeach.org
Ian McCurry, English and History 6 - ian.mccurry@ivalongbeach.org
Cari Noble, Math and Science 6 - cari.noble@ivalongbeach.org
Adam Rodriguez, PE 6 and 8 - adam.rodriguez@ivalongbeach.org

Our board chairman welcomes your questions and concerns.
Dr. Eric Churchill, eric.churchill@ivalongbeach.org
Copyright © 2016 Intellectual Virtues Academy Long Beach, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp