Copy
New dates and event information
View this email in your browser
School Photos
  • Your picture orders were due Monday November 30 in order for the photographs to be ready by Holiday Recess. If you have not turned your order in, please do so as soon as possible.
  • Picture Makeup Day is tomorrow, Thursday, Dec 3rd. Students are to wear school uniform to school and bring a change of clothes for the make-up photo shoot.
  • If you have not received your pictures online from Classic Image, please contact Dana Lowe.
  • Orders can also be accepted by order form, with a check. Please submit to the school office if you choose not to pay online.
Many thank to volunteer Dana Lowe for organizing our picture day! It was as smooth as a whistle! 
Dates

Wed, Dec 2 - Millikan Site Night, 6:00 pm

Thu, Dec 3 - Picture Make-up Day

Thu, Dec 3 - Fun Thursday Bake Sale for Student Council

Fri, Dec 4 - the Academy's Coffee in the Courtyard, 8:15 am  

Sat, Dec 5 - Cabrillo Site Saturday, 9:00 am

Tue, Dec 8 - Basketball Practice, 3:30 pm + Basketball Parent Meeting, 5:00 pm

Wed, Dec 9 - IVA Board of Directors Meeting, 7:00 pm

Thu, Dec 10, IVA Info Night6:30pm

Mon, Dec 14 - HS Choice Online application window opens

Mon, Dec 14 - The Academy Info Night, 7:30pm

Thu, Dec 17 - PTSA General Meeting + Parent Academy, 6:00 pm

Mon, Dec 21 - Jan 1 - Winter Recess

Supporting Your Student
We are half way through the semester. Now is a good time to encourage your student to check in to Illuminate and Google Classroom to see if they have any missing assignments, or upcoming project due dates. Now that they have had time to transition to middle school, establishing a routine for home thinking should be easier. Help your student design their individual study space. If your student is struggling with due dates and assignments, encourage them to talk to their teacher during office hours or email them (links to emails are always included in this newsletter). Refer to the teacher's syllabus to understand their preferred method of communication. 
From our Principal
Dear IVA families,

This month we begin inviting fifth-grade families onto our campus to learn more about IVA and our mission to foster meaningful growth in intellectual character virtues in a thoughtful, challenging, and supportive academic environment.  But WHY an intellectual virtues education? WHAT makes this middle school unique in Long Beach and HOW will a child benefit from it? 

Dr. Steve Porter wrote on our Blog, "An intellectual virtues education takes seriously our students’ desires to learn. Why do they want to learn? Why don’t they want to learn? How can we help them see the goodness of learning? What are their strengths and weaknesses when it comes to learning (e.g., open-mindedness, humility, courage, etc.)? The point of an intellectual virtues education is not to give them some other good (grades, money, candy!) and use that to motivate their attempts to learn. The point of an intellectual virtues education is to help train their intellectual appetites. Read more on the blog here.

If you haven't already, tell a fifth-grade friend to come check us out on December 10th at 6:30 pm here at IVA so they can see first-hand what a difference a virtues education can make to a young mind. 

To live and learn well,
Jacquie
PTSA News
Reminder! Please submit payment for the Learn2Earn Read-a-thon fundraiser if you have not already done so. Thank you! 
Athletics
On Tuesday, December 8th we will host a parent meeting to discuss schedules and logistics at 5:00 pm after basketball practice. 
Connect with IVA faculty!

Staff: We have four dedicated staff members at IVA!
Jacquie Bryant, Principal - jacquie.bryant@ivalongbeach.org
Amos Mikaele, Counselor - amos.mikaele@ivalongbeach.org
Danielle Montiel, Program Administrator - danielle.montiel@ivalongbeach.org
Diana Bosetti, Admin Assistant - diana.bosetti@ivalongbeach.org

Send in Notice of Absences: attendance@ivalongbeach.org

Teachers: We have 8 amazing teachers at IVA!
Claudia Campos, Science - claudia.campos@ivalongbeach.org
Angel Cutno, Music and Interpersonal Comm. - angel.cutno@ivalongbeach.org
Sabine Deeble, German 1-2 and PE 6 - sabine.deeble@ivalongbeach.org
Roberta Denis, Art and English 6 - roberta.denis@ivalongbeach.org
Chris Fountain, History - chris.fountain@ivalongbeach.org
Jana McAdams, Physical Education and Math 6 - jana.mcadams@ivalongbeach.org
Ian McCurry, English and History 6 - ian.mccurry@ivalongbeach.org
Cari Noble, Math and Science 6 - cari.noble@ivalongbeach.org
Copyright © 2015 Intellectual Virtues Academy Long Beach, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp