Copy
No school today - Veteran's Day
View this email in your browser
Veteran's Day
Every year on Nov. 11, we celebrate all of the men and women who have served in our armed forces. Veterans Day is not to be confused with Memorial Day, though they both focus on our nation’s military veterans. While Memorial Day is aimed at honoring the men and women who have died while fighting in an active war, or who died due to injuries sustained during wartime, Veterans Day is a time to celebrate all veterans — both living and deceased— whether they served during war or peace time. Thank a Veteran today for their service to our country. 

Learn more about the history of Veteran's Day from History.com here.
Dates

Wed, Nov 11 - Veteran's Day, no school

Tue, Nov 17 - Basketball tryouts, 3:30 - 5:00 pm 

Wed, Nov 18 - Picture Day - Free dress 

Fri, Nov 20 - Faculty Academy Day - no school

Don't forget to check our High School CHOICE events calendar for upcoming Site Nights at each LBUSD High School.

Mon, Nov 23 - Fri, Nov 27 - Thanksgiving Break

Congrats!
Mr. Ian McCurry and his wife Esther welcomed their third child, Isaiah Donald McCurry at 8:47 pm on November 6th. He was 8 lbs 11 oz. Welcome to our world baby boy! 
 

Our Sub is Mr. Alex Rodriguez. He will be here with us for a total of three weeks until Mr. McCurry returns. 

CDSC Conference & the virtues
Intellectual Virtues & IVA are influencing the charter school movement!

This year’s keynote address at the Charter Schools Development Center Conference will be given by Ron Ritchhart, a Senior Research Associate at Harvard’s Project Zero and the author of Making Thinking Visible: How to Promote Engagement, Understanding, and Independence for All Learners .

Ron Ritchhart’s keynote presentation—titled “Cultures of Thinking”—will touch upon his research in intellectual character, mindfulness, thinking dispositions, teaching for understanding, creativity in teaching, and the development of communities of practice.

In additon, Jacquie, Chris, Cari, and Danielle are leading a session title Teaching for Deep Understanding: How a Focus on Intellectual Character Shifts the Classroom and School Culture. Learn more here
 
Picture Day

Picture Day is Wednesday, November 18th.

  • Picture Day is a free dress day
  • Proofs for viewing and ordering will be available Friday, November 20th via online to parents email.
  • Parents will be sent a unique code to open and view their students photo(s).  No payment is required up front.
  • Enjoy the Thanksgiving break to view and select picture packages.
  • Orders need to be in by Monday, Nov. 30th to insure delivery of pictures before Winter Break.
  • If a parents prefers, or does not have internet access, please advise so a proof sheet with an order form can be delivered to school on Friday Nov 20th. Please return the order form to the school office by Mon. Nov 30th with payment on package selected.
PTSA News

Only 3 days left to reach our goal


The PTSA annually funds 6 field trips (3 full school and 3 grade level field trips), classroom enrichment and supplies, outdoor fitness, dances, and club activities. In addition this year we are also looking to fund chairs, tables and lunch benches to compliment the lockers and benches that are on order for our new Fox Corner of the blacktop! 

As of November 7th, we had only raised $6,000 so far! Our goal is to raise $34,000 ($200 per student) to pay for field trips, 8th grade promotion, and create a functional space for our students to eat lunch, access lockers, and grow a learning garden! Right now only 20% of our school has participated and we've only raised less than $4,000.  

Here's what you can do! 1. Login and reach out to sponsors to support our middle school! 2. Make a donation - any amount gets us closer to our goal. 3. Read and log your pages read! 

If you do not wish to login to Learn 2 Earn for the PTSA fundraiser, you may send in donations directly to the office. Please make checks payable to "IVA PTA" by this Friday.
Athletics
Optional basketball practices are Tuesday after school from 3:30pm-5:00pm here at IVA! Official tryouts will be held on November 17, and the team will be announced by November 20.
Practices will switch to twice a week after the Thanksgiving Break.
High School Choice
Announcing a new, free, public high school in Long Beach. Intellectual Virtues Academy opens in August 2016 with 120 ninth-graders. Their mission is to inspire growth in "intellectual virtues," the deep, personal qualities of an excellent thinker and life-long learner.  

High School CHOICE Info Nights at IVA middle school
Monday, November 30, 6:30pm
Monday, December 14, 7:30pm
Thursday, January 14, 6:30pm


Learn more at academylongbeach.org and connect on Facebook.
Connect with IVA faculty!

Staff: We have four dedicated staff members at IVA!
Jacquie Bryant, Principal - jacquie.bryant@ivalongbeach.org
Amos Mikaele, Counselor - amos.mikaele@ivalongbeach.org
Danielle Montiel, Program Administrator - danielle.montiel@ivalongbeach.org
Diana Bosetti, Admin Assistant - diana.bosetti@ivalongbeach.org

Send in Notice of Absences: attendance@ivalongbeach.org

Teachers: We have 8 amazing teachers at IVA!
Claudia Campos, Science - claudia.campos@ivalongbeach.org
Angel Cutno, Music and Interpersonal Comm. - angel.cutno@ivalongbeach.org
Sabine Deeble, German 1-2 and PE 6 - sabine.deeble@ivalongbeach.org
Roberta Denis, Art and English 6 - roberta.denis@ivalongbeach.org
Chris Fountain, History - chris.fountain@ivalongbeach.org
Jana McAdams, Physical Education and Math 6 - jana.mcadams@ivalongbeach.org
Ian McCurry, English and History 6 - ian.mccurry@ivalongbeach.org
Cari Noble, Math and Science 6 - cari.noble@ivalongbeach.org
Copyright © 2015 Intellectual Virtues Academy Long Beach, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp