Join us for the 29th annual remembrance & celebration
View this email in your browser
You are invited!

to the
29th Annual "I Believe Anita Hill" Celebration

THURSDAY, October 15, 2020
6-7:30 PM

The Comfort of Your Own Home 

Because of Covid-19, this year’s celebration will be totally online. Professor Anita Hill will join us virtually for some remarks. 

RSVP here!

A link to our Zoom celebration will be sent only to those who pre-register a day before the celebration. We can't be together in person, but we're going to have a great virtual time!
Even though you're working from home, you still want to treat every meeting as you would if you were participating in person. That means take a shower, get dressed appropriately, and plan out your setting to make sure you have what you need. Don't forget your snacks and libations so you don't miss a minute as we remember 28 consecutive years!

See our website for current news.

Known as South Carolina's largest networking opportunity for women, it is also the longest-running event honoring Anita Hill for her courage in testifying against then U.S. Supreme Court nominee Clarence Thomas before the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee in 1991. The party is free thanks to the support of our hosts and your online contributions are gratefully accepted.
The Anita Hill Celebration is a 501C3 Corporation. Donations are tax deductible.


Bring someone along. One mission of the AHP is to educate younger women and men about equal rights and how the experiences of the past months remind us that we have not yet achieved them.

About Professor Anita Hill

Anita Hill is a Professor of Social Policy, Law, and Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies at Brandeis University. In 1991, Professor Hill testified before the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee during the confirmation hearings for then-U.S. Supreme Court nominee Clarence Thomas. Professor Hill has written several books regarding her experiences and has received numerous awards, grants, and honorary degrees. In April 2016, the HBO movie “Confirmation” was released, which told the story of the famous hearings and their aftermath. 

In 2017, Hill was chosen to lead the charge against sexual harassment in the entertainment industry for the Commission on Sexual Harassment and Advancing Equality in the Workplace. Its mission is “to tackle the broad culture of abuse and power disparity.” In April 2019, Hill was once again in the news when former Vice-President Joe Biden phoned her to “convey his regrets for what she endured” during the Clarence Thomas confirmation hearings.  (Biden, who in 1991 presided over the hearings as chairman of the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee, was subsequently criticized for not calling several other witnesses to testify. Read more about Professor Hill.

2019 Hosts

Jennet Robinson Alterman Julia Ferillo Megan Plott
**Drucilla Barker **Candy Fletcher **Anne Wolfe Postic
**Mary Baskin-Waters Pat Forbis **Barbara Rackes
Heather Bauer **Anita Garrett **Marie-Louise Ramsdale
**Leigh Bolick Barbara Gelberd **Beth Richardson
Elizabeth (Beth) Bowen Maggie Gibson-Bostic **Vicki Ringer
**Sally Boyd Christina Goodwin **Linda Salane
Ann Braithwaite Marjorie Hammock Carol Sanders
Heather Brandt Kalena Hammock Lila Anna Sauls
Connie Breeden Tena Hardee Nekki Shutt
Claudia Brinson **Frannie Heizer Anne Sinclair
Tracie Broom Kitty Hepfer Susan Smith
Tamara Burk **Amy Hill Julie Smith Turner
**Malissa Burnette Rachel Hodges Deb Snow
**Lenora Bush Reese Christie James **Eve Stacey
Dawn Campbell Ashley Johnson Mullen Taylor
Carole Cato Lindsay Joyner Allison Terracio
**Merrill Chapman Brittany Kilpatrick Carmen Thomas
Teowonna Clifton Tootsie Kline Mary-Stuart Tinkler
Natalie Cobb Grant LeFever Nancy Tuten
Lee Coggiola Val Littlefield Pat Votava
**Jan Collins Debora Lloyd Candy Waites
Rosie Craig Delores Logan Breon Walker
Eme Crawford Julie Lumpkin Ann Warner
Liz Crum Isa Mandell Melissa W. Watson
**JoAnne Day **Kathleen McDaniel Elizabeth Wolfe
Tameika Isaac Devine Sandy McGuckin **Molly Wolfe
Lois Duke Whitaker Elizabeth McLendon **Katherine Wyly Millie
Crissandra Elliott Thiele McVey Courtney Young
Brandi Ellison Haley Nelson  
The longest-running remembrance of the 1991 Anita Hill Hearings
Copyright 2019 ©I Believe Anita Hill, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
PO Box 11974 | Columbia, SC 29211

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list